Flannan’s edge Roco in thriller

St Flannan’s College, Ennis 3-5 St Francis College Rochestown 2-7

St Flannan’s College, Ennis were crowned inaugural Corn An Bráthair Choilm Taft champions at Ballyagran yesterday after edging out St Francis College, Rochestown in a thriller.

The U15 football competition got the final it deserved at the Limerick venue, with both sides putting in a terrific effort in front of a large and always vocal crowd.

St Flannan’s centre-back Gearóid Cahill proved the hero of the hour, bagging the winning goal late on — less than a minute after setting up his attacking colleague Philip Talty for the Clare college’s second goal.

Cahill’s was dominant in midfield, causing no end of problems throughout. The number six also scored St Flannan’s opening goal — a penalty in the sixth minute.

For the vanquished Cork side the result was heart-breaking, after they fought their way back to lead.

Flannan’s had led by 1-4 to 0-3 at the break. Second-half goals from Rory Doyle and midfielder Shane Downey looked to have given the rebel side the win, only for Cahill’s late heroics and a wonderful save from St Flannan’s keeper Daniel Hickey, who pushed a last-minute game-deciding penalty over the bar.

Scorers for St Flannan’s College: G Cahill 2-1 (1-0 pen); P Talty 1-2; E Thynne, K Considine 0-1 each (both frees).

St Francis College: R Doyle 1-3 (0-1 pen); S Downey 1-0; J Kabia 0-2; C O’Mahony, C Russell 0-1 each.

ST FLANNAN’S COLLEGE: D Kelly (Clondegad); D Hickey (Banner), J Finnucane (Kilmihil), M Kenny (Banner); C McDonagh (St Joseph’s Doora-Barefield), G Cahill (Corofin), E Breen (Clondegad); I Molloy (Banner), G Collins (Éire Óg); R Collins (Banner), P Talty (Éire Óg), E Thynne (St Joseph’s Doora-Barefield); K Considine (Banner), T O’Brien (St Joseph’s Doora-Barefield), D Daly (Banner).

Subs: M McInerney (Éire Óg) for T O’Brien (59).

ST FRANCIS COLLEGE: A Kelleher (Douglas); B O’Neill (Douglas), J Lester (Passage West), J O’Connell (Douglas); D Malone (Douglas), C Russell (Douglas), J Ryan (St Finbarr's); S Downey (Shamrocks), D Quinlan (Nemo Rangers); P Vaughan (Carrigaline), C O’Mahony (Douglas), A Hennessy (St Michael's); R Doyle (Douglas), E Donlon (Douglas), J Kabia (Douglas).

Subs: S McCabe for C Russell (BC) (12), D O’Driscoll (Douglas) for E Donlon (half time), Z Slowey (Nemo Rangers) for P Vaughan (45), S McCabe (Douglas) for D O’Driscoll (58).

Referee: R Maloney (Limerick).

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd