Declan on bench for final clash

No Declan O’Sullivan in the team, no Colm Cooper in the squad and two changes to the side that beat Mayo.

Declan on bench for final clash

That is the long and short of Kerry’s team news released last night.

Marc Ó Sé, as expected, comes into the full-back line for Shane Enright after impressing in Limerick last month, while fit-again Stephen O’Brien replaces Michael Geaney at right half-forward.

Nine of the team will be starting their first senior final, including Kieran Donaghy who is again named at full-forward. Colm Cooper is named outside the match-day squad as he continues his recovery from cruciate and kneecap injuries.

Of the team that started Kerry’s last All-Ireland final appearance in 2011, there are just six survivors — Donaghy, Ó Sé, Aidan O’Mahony, Killian Young, Anthony Maher and Donnchadh Walsh. From that side that lost to Dublin, Brendan Kealy, Bryan Sheehan and the O’Sullivans, Darren and Declan, as well as Kieran O’Leary, are on the bench. David Moran appeared in the 2009 final victory over Cork as a late substitute for Tommy Walsh.

Declan O’Sullivan is kept in reserve for the third game in succession, his last start coming against Galway in the All-Ireland quarter-final. Bryan Sheehan, who also started that game before injury struck, is also selected on the bench while Darran O’Sullivan takes his place there having missed the Mayo games with a hamstring problem. Kenmare’s O’Brien, having sustained a thigh injury in the first Mayo game, appears in his debut final in what is his first full debut season at senior level.

Meanwhile, Kerry minor manager Jack O’Connor makes one change from the team that beat Mayo for Sunday’s final against Donegal. Liam Kearney comes into the full-forward line and will captain the side, replacing Jordan Kiely. Dr Crokes starlet Kiely is Kerry’s top scorer from play this summer with 5-5.

Of the team that claimed the Munster title against Cork in July, Kiely is the only absentee with Andrew Barry coming in at centre half-back.

Meanwhile, Jim McCorry was last night appointed as Down manager for 2015. McCorry replaces James McCartan after leading Kilcoo to the Down championship crown last year and then an Ulster club SFC victory over Crossmaglen. His selectors will be Michael Walsh and John Treanor.

KERRY (SFC v Donegal): B Kelly (Legion); M Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht), A O’Mahony (Rathmore), F Fitzgerald (Dr Crokes); P Murphy (Rathmore), P Crowley (Laune Rangers), K Young (Renard); A Maher (Duagh), D Moran (Kerins O’Rahillys); S O’Brien (Kenmare), J Buckley (Dr Crokes), D Walsh (Cromane); P Geaney (Dingle), K Donaghy (Austin Stacks), J O’Donoghue (Legion).

Subs: B Kealy (Kilcummin), S Enright (Tarbert), M Geaney (Dingle), Declan O’Sullivan (Dromid Pearses), B Sheehan (St Mary’s), BJ Keane (Kerins O’Rahillys), Darran O’Sullivan (Glenbeigh-Glencar), K O’Leary (Dr Crokes), J Lyne (Legion), M Griffin (St Michaels/Foilmore), P Kilkenny (Glenbeigh/Glencar).

Additional players: A Fitzgerald (Castlegregory), C Cooper (Dr Crokes), J Sherwood (Firies), D Casey (Dr Crokes), P O’Donoghue (St Mary’s), S O’Callaghan (Austin Stacks), M Mangan (Milltown-Castlemaine), F McNamara (Austin Stacks).

KERRY (MFC v Donegal): S Ryan (Rathmore); D O’Donoghue (Spa), B Ó Beaglaioch (An Ghaeltacht), T O’Sullivan (Dingle); B Sugrue (Renard), A Barry (Na Gaeil), C Coffey (Kerins O’Rahillys); B O’Sullivan (Dingle), M O’Connor (Dingle); M Burns (Dr Crokes), B Rayel (Lispole), M Flaherty (Dingle); K Spillane (Templenoe), L Kearney (Spa), T Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht).

Subs: E O’Connell (St Senans), J Kiely (Dr Crokes), L Carey (Beaufort), S O’Sullivan(Templenoe), R Wharton (Renard), I Parker (Churchill), J Morgan (Austin Stacks), R Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht), J Foley (Ballydonoghue). Additional players: S Ryan (Austin Stacks), G White (Dr Crokes), C Bambury (Dingle), A Murphy (Dr Crokes), B Ó Seanacháin (Ballydonoghue), C Geaney (Dingle).

More in this section

CourtsGaaFootballPerson: DeclanPerson: SullivanPerson: Colm CooperPerson: Marc Ó SéPerson: Shane EnrightPerson: Stephen O’BrienPerson: Michael GeaneyPerson: Kieran DonaghyPerson: DonaghyPerson: Ó SéPerson: Aidan O’MahonyPerson: Killian YoungPerson: Anthony MaherPerson: Donnchadh WalshPerson: Brendan KealyPerson: Bryan SheehanPerson: O’SullivansPerson: DarrenPerson: Kieran O’LearyPerson: David MoranPerson: Tommy WalshPerson: Declan O’SullivanPerson: Darran O’SullivanPerson: O’BrienPerson: Jack O’ConnorPerson: Liam KearneyPerson: Jordan KielyPerson: KielyPerson: KerryPerson: Andrew BarryPerson: Jim McCorryPerson: McCorryPerson: James McCartanPerson: KilcooPerson: Michael WalshPerson: John TreanorPerson: B KellyPerson: M Ó SéPerson: A O’MahonyPerson: RathmorePerson: F FitzgeraldPerson: Dr CrokesPerson: P MurphyPerson: P CrowleyPerson: K YoungPerson: RenardPerson: A MaherPerson: DuaghPerson: D MoranPerson: Kerins O’RahillysPerson: S O’BrienPerson: KenmarePerson: J BuckleyPerson: D WalshPerson: CromanePerson: P GeaneyPerson: DinglePerson: K DonaghyPerson: Austin StacksPerson: J O’DonoghuePerson: B KealyPerson: KilcumminPerson: S EnrightPerson: TarbertPerson: M GeaneyPerson: Dromid PearsesPerson: B SheehanPerson: BJ KeanePerson: K O’LearyPerson: J LynePerson: LegionPerson: M GriffinPerson: St MichaelsPerson: FoilmorePerson: P KilkennyPerson: GlenbeighPerson: A FitzgeraldPerson: CastlegregoryPerson: C CooperPerson: J SherwoodPerson: FiriesPerson: D CaseyPerson: P O’DonoghuePerson: Mary’sPerson: S O’CallaghanPerson: M ManganPerson: F McNamaraPerson: S RyanPerson: D O’DonoghuePerson: B Ó BeaglaíochPerson: T O’SullivanPerson: B SugruePerson: A BarryPerson: Na GaeilPerson: C CoffeyPerson: B O’SullivanPerson: M O’ConnorPerson: M BurnsPerson: B RayelPerson: LispolePerson: M FlahertyPerson: K SpillanePerson: TemplenoePerson: L KearneyPerson: T Ó SéPerson: E O’ConnellPerson: St SenansPerson: J KielyPerson: L CareyPerson: BeaufortPerson: S O’SullivanPerson: R WhartonPerson: I ParkerPerson: ChurchillPerson: J MorganPerson: R Ó SéPerson: GhaeltachtPerson: J FoleyPerson: BallydonoghuePerson: G WhitePerson: C BamburyPerson: A MurphyPerson: B Ó SeanacháinPerson: C GeaneyEvent: All-IrelandEvent: All-Ireland quarter-Event: MunsterOrganisation: MayoOrganisation: KerryOrganisation: DublinOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: GalwayOrganisation: KenmareOrganisation: DonegalOrganisation: CrokesOrganisation: DownOrganisation: SFCOrganisation: CrossmaglenOrganisation: An GhaeltachtOrganisation: LauneOrganisation: St Mary’sOrganisation: Milltown
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.235 s