Horan keeps faith with Mayo selection

Mayo manager James Horan has opted not to make any changes to his side for tomorrow’s All-Ireland SFC quarter-final clash with Cork at Croke Park (4pm).

Having won a fourth consecutive Connacht title with victory over Galway last month, Horan and his selectors have decided to keep faith with the same starting 15. Mayo have won their quarter-final games in each of the past three years.

Mayo’s minors, who play Armagh in the All-Ireland quarter-final at 12 noon, show two changes. Fionán Duffy, who impressed after coming in the Connacht final against Roscommon, replaces Conor Byrne while Conor Kilkenny is named in the full-back line. Stephen Brennan misses out while Barry Duffy moves to centre-back.

There are two alterations to the Kerry minor team for their minor quarter-final against Kildare on Monday in Semple Stadium, 3.45pm.

Having beaten Cork by four points in the Munster final, the Jack O’Connor-managed Kingdom have included Andrew Barry of Na Gaeil at centre-back, with Mark O’Connor moving to midfield where he partners his Dingle clubmate Barry O’Sullivan.

Liam Kearney loses out there, while in attack Beaufort’s Liam Carey replaces Brian Rayle.

That game is preceded by the meeting of Leinster champions Dublin and Cork, at 2pm. Cork have made four changes since the Kerry loss. Maidhc Ó Duinnín and Brian Coakley, who both played against Limerick and Waterford, are back from injury while goalkeeper Anthony Kidney and left half-forward David Lowney are also in. Colm O’Driscoll, Tom Bushe, Cian O’Donovan and Seán O’Leary make way.

MAYO (SF v Dublin): R Hennelly (Breaffy); C Barrett (Belmullet), G Cafferkey (Ballina Stephenites), K Higgins (Ballyhaunis); L Keegan (Westport), C Boyle (Davitts), D Vaughan (Ballinrobe); B Moran (Castlebar Mitchels), S O’Shea (Breaffy); K McLoughlin (Knockmore), A O’Shea (Breaffy), J Doherty (Burrishoole); C O’Connor (Ballintubber), A Moran (Ballaghaderreen), A Dillon (Ballintubber).

CORK (MF v Dublin): A Kidney (Passage); J Mullins (Éire Óg), K Flahive (Douglas), S Powter (Douglas); S O’Donoghue (Inniscarra), C Kiely (Ballincollig), M Ó Duinnín (Naomh Abán); B Coakley (Carrigaline), M Ó Deasuna (Cill na Martra); G Murphy (Castletownbere), D Ó Duinnín (Cill na Martra), D Lowney (Clonakilty); S Ronayne (Clyda Rovers), S Kingston (Douglas), M Hurley (Castlehaven).

Subs: C O’Driscoll (Castlehaven), C O’Donovan (Clonakilty), T Bushe (Ilen Rovers), A Hassett (Ilen Rovers), M Cottrell (Newmarket), E O’Sullivan (Douglas), D Buckley (Ballyclough), S O’Donovan (Ilen Rovers), D O’Neill (Mayfield).

MAYO (MF v Armagh): M Flanagan (Balla); C Kilkenny (Aghamore), S Cunniffe (Ballaghaderreen), E O’Donoghue (Belmullet); J Forkan (Kiltimagh), B Duffy (Balla), S Conlon (Castlebar Mitchels); G Walsh (Breaffy), M Ruane (Breaffy); G Boylan (Belmullet), C Hanley (Ballaghaderreen), S Akram (Ballaghaderreen); F Duffy (Crossmolina), TJ Byrne (Kiltimagh), B Reape (Bohola Moy Davitts).

KERRY (MF v Kildare): S Ryan (Rathmore); C Coffey (Kerins O’Rahillys), B Ó Beaglaíoch (An Ghaeltacht), T O’Sullivan (Dingle); D O’Donoghue (Spa), A Barry (Na Gaeil), B Sugrue (Renard); B O’Sullivan (Dingle), M O’Connor (Dingle); M Flaherty (Dingle), L Carey (Beaufort), M Burns (Dr Crokes); J Kiely (Dr Crokes), K Spillane (Templenoe), T Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht).

Subs: E O’Connell (St Senan’s), L Kearney (Spa), B Rayle (Lispole), S O’Sullivan (Templenoe), R Wharton (Renard), J Morgan (Austin Stacks), I Parker (Churchill), S Ryan (Austin Stacks), J Foley (Ballydonoghue).

More in this section

CourtsGaaMayo v CorkPlace: Croke ParkPlace: Semple StadiumPerson: HoranPerson: James HoranPerson: Fionán DuffyPerson: Conor ByrnePerson: Conor KilkennyPerson: Stephen BrennanPerson: Barry DuffyPerson: Jack O’ConnorPerson: Andrew BarryPerson: GaeilPerson: Mark O’ConnorPerson: Barry O’SullivanPerson: Liam KearneyPerson: Liam CareyPerson: Brian RaylePerson: Maidhc Ó DuinnínPerson: Brian CoakleyPerson: Anthony KidneyPerson: David LowneyPerson: Colm O’DriscollPerson: Tom BushePerson: Cian O’DonovanPerson: Sean O’LearyPerson: R HennellyPerson: BreaffyPerson: C BarrettPerson: G CafferkeyPerson: StephenitesPerson: K HigginsPerson: L KeeganPerson: C BoylePerson: DavittsPerson: D VaughanPerson: B MoranPerson: S O’SheaPerson: K McLoughlinPerson: KnockmorePerson: A O’SheaPerson: J DohertyPerson: BurrishoolePerson: C O’ConnorPerson: A MoranPerson: A DillonPerson: CorkPerson: A KidneyPerson: J MullinsPerson: Éire ÓgPerson: K FlahivePerson: DouglasPerson: S PowterPerson: S O’DonoghuePerson: C KielyPerson: M Ó DuinnínPerson: Naomh AbanPerson: B CoakleyPerson: CarrigalinePerson: M Ó DeasúnaPerson: Na MartraPerson: G MurphyPerson: D Ó DuinnínPerson: D LowneyPerson: S RonaynePerson: S KingstonPerson: M HurleyPerson: C O’DriscollPerson: C O’DonovanPerson: T BushePerson: A HassettPerson: M CottrellPerson: E O’SullivanPerson: D BuckleyPerson: S O’DonovanPerson: D O’NeillPerson: M FlanaganPerson: CPerson: S CunniffePerson: E O’DonoghuePerson: J ForkanPerson: B DuffyPerson: S ConlonPerson: G WalshPerson: M RuanePerson: G BoylanPerson: BelmulletPerson: C HanleyPerson: S AkramPerson: F DuffyPerson: CrossmolinaPerson: TJ ByrnePerson: KiltimaghPerson: B ReapePerson: Bohola Moy DavittsPerson: KerryPerson: S RyanPerson: RathmorePerson: C CoffeyPerson: Kerins O’RahillysPerson: B Ó BeaglaíochPerson: T O’SullivanPerson: DinglePerson: D O’DonoghuePerson: SpaPerson: A BarryPerson: Na GaeilPerson: B SugruePerson: RenardPerson: B O’SullivanPerson: M O’ConnorPerson: M FlahertyPerson: L CareyPerson: BeaufortPerson: M BurnsPerson: Dr CrokesPerson: J KielyPerson: K SpillanePerson: TemplenoePerson: T Ó SéPerson: GhaeltachtPerson: E O’ConnellPerson: St Senan’sPerson: L KearneyPerson: B RaylePerson: LispolePerson: S O’SullivanPerson: R WhartonPerson: J MorganPerson: Austin StacksPerson: I ParkerPerson: ChurchillPerson: J FoleyPerson: BallydonoghueEvent: All-Ireland SFC quarter-finalEvent: ConnachtEvent: All-Ireland quarterEvent: Connacht finalEvent: MunsterOrganisation: MayoOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: GalwayOrganisation: ArmaghOrganisation: RoscommonOrganisation: KerryOrganisation: KildareOrganisation: DingleOrganisation: BeaufortOrganisation: LeinsterOrganisation: DublinOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: SFOrganisation: BelmulletOrganisation: BallinaOrganisation: BallyhaunisOrganisation: WestportOrganisation: Castlebar MitchelsOrganisation: CastletownbereOrganisation: ClonakiltyOrganisation: Clyda RoversOrganisation: CastlehavenOrganisation: Ilen RoversOrganisation: NewmarketOrganisation: DouglasOrganisation: BallycloughOrganisation: MayfieldOrganisation: AghamoreOrganisation: BallaghaderreenOrganisation: KiltimaghOrganisation: An Ghaeltacht
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.