Oversight prevents Déise’s O’Sullivan from appealing his two-match ban

An embarrassing oversight has prevented Waterford hurler Brian O’Sullivan from appealing a two-match ban. The forward picked up the suspension retrospectively following Waterford’s Munster SHC quarter-final defeat by Cork last Sunday week.

O’Sullivan was handed down the punishment for hitting Damien Cahalane with his hurley in the first minute in Thurles.

The Central Competitions Control Committee contacted the Waterford County Board last week to notify them of the proposed ban.

However, the player was only informed of it on Thursday evening at which time the suspension was confirmed and it was too late to seek a meeting with the Central Hearings Committee.

O’Sullivan will not now be available until the All-Ireland quarter-finals should Waterford progress through the backdoor.

KILKENNY (SHC v Galway): E Murphy; P Murphy, JJ Delaney, B Kennedy; K Joyce, J Tyrrell, C Buckley; P Walsh, R Hogan; W Walsh, M Kelly, TJ Reid; C Fennelly, R Power, E Larkin.

Subs: D Herity, M Walsh, B Hogan, J Holden, C Fogarty, L Ryan, T Walsh, H Shefflin, A Fogarty, JJ Farrell, J Power.

TIPPERARY (SFC v Cork): P Fitzgerald (Fethard); J Coghlan (Moyne Templetuohy), P Codd (Killenaule), C McDonald (Aherlow); C O’Riordan (JK Brackens), R Kiely (Arravale Rovers), P Acheson (Moyle Rovers); S O’Brien (Ballina), G Hannigan (Shannon Rovers); P Austin (Borrisokane), I Fahey (Commercials), B Fox (Eire Óg Annacarty); C Sweeney (Ballyporeen), M Quinlivan (Commercials), B Grogan (Aherlow)

DONEGAL (SFC v Antrim): P Durcan; E McGee, N McGee, P McGrath; F McGrath, K Lacey, A Thompson; N Gallagher, R Kavanagh; C Toye, L McLoone, R McHugh; P McBrearty, M Murphy, C McFadden.

Subs: M Boyle, Declan Walsh, L Keaney, M McElhinney, O Mac Niallais, David Walsh, D Molloy, D O’Connor, L Thompson, M O’Reilly, H McFadden.

LAOIS (SFC v Fermanagh): G Brody, P McMahon, D Booth, P O’Leary; D Strong, P Begley, C Begley; C Meredith, J O’Loughlin; J Finn, B Sheehan, N Donoher; R Munnelly, D Kingston, D Conway.

LONGFORD (SFC v Derry): D Sheridan; D Brady, B Gilleran, F Battrim; CP Smieth, E Williams, S Mulligan; J Keegan, K Diffley; M Quinn, F McGee, P Barden; A Rowan, B Kavanagh, S McCormack.

More in this section

courtsgaahurlingplace: thurlesperson: sullivanperson: brianperson: o’sullivanperson: damien cahalaneperson: e murphyperson: p murphyperson: jj delaneyperson: b kennedyperson: k joyceperson: j tyrrellperson: c buckleyperson: p walshperson: r hoganperson: w walshperson: m kellyperson: tj reidperson: c fennellyperson: r powerperson: e larkinperson: d herityperson: m walshperson: b hoganperson: j holdenperson: c fogartyperson: l ryanperson: t walshperson: h shefflinperson: a fogartyperson: jj farrellperson: j powerperson: tipperaryperson: p fitzgeraldperson: j coghlanperson: moyne templetuohyperson: p coddperson: c mcdonaldperson: c o’riordanperson: jk brackensperson: r kielyperson: p achesonperson: s o’brienperson: g hanniganperson: p austinperson: i faheyperson: b foxperson: eire og annacartyperson: c sweeneyperson: m quinlivanperson: b groganperson: p durcanperson: e mcgeeperson: n mcgeeperson: p mcgrathperson: f mcgrathperson: k laceyperson: a thompsonperson: n gallagherperson: r kavanaghperson: c toyeperson: l mclooneperson: r mchughperson: p mcbreartyperson: m murphyperson: c mcfaddenperson: m boyleperson: declan walshperson: l keaneyperson: m mcelhinneyperson: ó mac niallaisperson: david walshperson: d molloyperson: d o’connorperson: l thompsonperson: m o’reillyperson: h mcfaddenperson: laoisperson: g brodyperson: p mcmahonperson: d boothperson: p o’learyperson: d strongperson: p begleyperson: c begleyperson: c meredithperson: j o’loughlinperson: j finnperson: b sheehanperson: n donoherperson: r munnellyperson: d kingstonperson: d conwayperson: d sheridanperson: d bradyperson: b gilleranperson: f battrimperson: cp smiethperson: e williamsperson: s mulliganperson: j keeganperson: k diffleyperson: m quinnperson: f mcgeeperson: p bardenperson: a rowanperson: b kavanaghperson: s mccormackevent: munster shc quarterevent: all-ireland quarter-finalsorganisation: waterfordorganisation: corkorganisation: central competitions control committeeorganisation: waterford county boardorganisation: central hearings committeeorganisation: shcorganisation: galwayorganisation: sfcorganisation: aherloworganisation: arravale roversorganisation: moyle roversorganisation: ballinaorganisation: shannon roversorganisation: borrisokaneorganisation: ballyporeenorganisation: antrimorganisation: longfordorganisation: derry

Join us for a special evening of Cheltenham chat on Friday March 12 at 6.30pm with racing legend and Irish Examiner columnist Ruby Walsh, Irish Examiner racing correspondent Tommy Lyons, and former champion jockey and tv presenter Mick Fitzgerald, author of Better than Sex.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Home Delivery


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.