Kildare boss Ryan keeps faith in black card

Kildare manager Jason Ryan retains faith in the black-card rule, but insists consistency of its application remains the most important factor.

Kildare boss Ryan keeps faith in black card

Ryan has been a proponent of the black card since its introduction, but also believes referees need support to help them administer the rules and that a greater pool of referees would increase the quality.

“It’s the same as any of the rules,” he said, “it’s just consistency to it, simple as that.

“The advantage rule is exactly the same thing. My five seconds could be your three seconds and your five seconds could be somebody else’s 70 seconds. It’s consistency to all of the rules and I don’t think that’s changed, it’s just the challenge our referees have.

“We speak about how impressive our GAA players are as amateurs and how they perform, but I think our officials – it’s to be remembered – are also amateurs and we’re comparing them to officials in the World Cup or whatnot, in soccer and in rugby.”

Meanwhile, Noel Galvin is the only debutant on the Cork side to face Tipperary in the Munster SFC semi-final in Páirc Uí Chaoimh tomorrow night.

Galvin is chosen at left corner-back while the half-back line includes two players, Patrick Kelly and John O’Rourke, who are more renowned as forwards.

Cork manager Brian Cuthbert has opted not to include dual players Aidan Walsh, Damien Cahalane or Eoin Cadogan, who have been involved with the county hurlers over three of the past four weekends.

CORK (SF v Tipperary): K O’Halloran (Bishopstown); M Shields (St Finbarr’s), Tom Clancy (Clonakilty), N Galvin (Ballincollig); J Loughrey (Mallow), P Kelly (Ballincollig), J O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers); A O’Sullivan (Castletownbere), F Goold (Macroom); M Collins (Castlehaven), P Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers), B O’Driscoll (Nemo Rangers); D Goulding (Éire Óg), B Hurley (Castlehaven), J Hayes (Carbery Rangers).

Subs: D Hanrahan (Douglas), J O’Sullivan (Bishopstown), E Cadogan (Douglas), D Cahalane (Castlehaven), Tomás Clancy (Fermoy), A Walsh (Kanturk), R Deane (Bantry Blues), C O’Driscoll (Tadhg Mac Cárthaigh), D Óg Hodnett (O’Donovan Rossa), C O’Neill (Ballyclough), C Vaughan (Uibh Laiore).

CORK (JF v Limerick): P Kirby (Tadhg Mac Cárthaigh); J McLoughlin (Kanturk), S Murphy (Ballydesmond), M O’Shea (Glengarriff); N McCarthy (Kinsale), J Daly (Fermoy), B Weathers (Lyre); F O’Shea (Clyda Rovers), J Kind (Passage); C Flanagan (Clyda Rovers), B Coughlan (Kinsale), M Sugrue (Bandon); S Beston (Mitchelstwon), P Condon (Mayfield), S Hickey (Rockchapel).

Subs: A Casey (Kiskeam), C O’Sullivan (Clyda Rovers), R Buckley (Macroom), F Herlihy (Mitchelstown), C Brosnan (Brian Dillons), A O’Connor (Knocknagree), J Dineen (Éire Óg), K Sheehan (Mallow), D Pyne (Glanworth).

LIMERICK (SFC v London); Brian Scanlon; Sean O’Dea, Johnny McCarthy, Colm Moran; Iain Corbett, Padraig Browne, Pa Ranahan; Thomas Lee, John Galvin; Darragh Tracey, Eoin Hanrahan, Seanie Buckley; Ger Collins, Killian Phair Ian Ryan.

FERMANAGH (SF v Laois): C Snow (Ederney St Joseph’s); M O’Brien (Devenish St Mary’s), B Mulrone (Devenish St Mary’s), N Cassidy (Roslea Shamrocks); D McCusker (Ederney St Joseph’s), R McCluskey (Enniskillen Gaels), T McElroy (Parnells, Dublin); E Donnelly (Coa O’Dwyers), R O’Callaghan (Enniskillen Gaels); L Cullen (Belleek), R Jones (Derrygonnelly Harps), P McCusker (Ederney St Joseph’s); R Corrigan (Kilnawley), S Quigley (Roslea Shamrocks), B Owens (Teemore Shamrocks).

KERRY (JF v Clare): S Murphy (Kilcummin); S Lynch (Spa), K O’Dwyer (Waterville), D Wrenn (Tarbert); G Gibson (Waterville), D Daly (St Mary’s), G Crowley (Templenoe); A Garnett (Spa), B O’Sullivan (Valentia); B Crowley (Templenoe), C Keating (Skelling Rangers), P O’Connor (Cordal); G O’Grady (Glenbeigh-Glencar), P Kennelly (Ballydonoghue), T Hickey (Castleisland Desmonds).

Subs: S Óg Ó Ciardubháin (Cordal), A O’Donoghue (John Mitchels), R Horgan (Ardfert), M Brennan (Churchill), C Horan (Glenflesk), P Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht), G Sayers (Keel), K Hurley (St Pat’s), S Moloney (John Mitchels).

More in this section

courtsgaaplace: páirc uí chaoimhplace: dublinplace: valentiaperson: ryanperson: jason ryanperson: noel galvinperson: galvinperson: patrick kellyperson: john o’rourkeperson: brian cuthbertperson: aidan walshperson: damien cahalaneperson: eoin cadoganperson: corkperson: k o’halloranperson: m shieldsperson: tom clancyperson: n galvinperson: j loughreyperson: p kellyperson: j o’rourkeperson: a o’sullivanperson: f gooldperson: m collinsperson: p kerriganperson: b o’driscollperson: d gouldingperson: b hurleyperson: j hayesperson: d hanrahanperson: douglasperson: j o’sullivanperson: e cadoganperson: d cahalaneperson: tomás clancyperson: a walshperson: r deaneperson: c o’driscollperson: tadhg mac cárthaighperson: d óg hodnettperson: o’donovan rossaperson: c o’neillperson: c vaughanperson: kirbyperson: j mcloughlinperson: s murphyperson: m o’sheaperson: glengarriffperson: n mccarthyperson: j dalyperson: b weathersperson: f o’sheaperson: j kindperson: c flanaganperson: b coughlanperson: m sugrueperson: bandonperson: s bestonperson: mitchelstwonperson: p condonperson: s hickeyperson: a caseyperson: c o’sullivanperson: r buckleyperson: macroomperson: f herlihyperson: c brosnanperson: brian dillonsperson: a o’connorperson: j dineenperson: ógperson: k sheehanperson: mallowperson: d pyneperson: glanworthperson: brian scanlonperson: sean o’deaperson: johnny mccarthyperson: colm moranperson: iain corbettperson: padraig browneperson: pa ranahanperson: thomas leeperson: john galvinperson: darragh traceyperson: eoin hanrahanperson: seanie buckleyperson: ger collinsperson: killian phairperson: ian ryanperson: c snowperson: m o’brienperson: b mulroneperson: n cassidyperson: d mccuskerperson: r mccluskeyperson: t mcelroyperson: e donnellyperson: coa o’dwyersperson: r o’callaghanperson: l cullenperson: belleekperson: r jonesperson: derrygonnelly harpsperson: p mccuskerperson: r corriganperson: s quigleyperson: b owensperson: kerryperson: kilcumminperson: s lynchperson: k o’dwyerperson: d wrennperson: tarbertperson: g gibsonperson: d dalyperson: g crowleyperson: a garnettperson: b o’sullivanperson: b crowleyperson: c keatingperson: p o’connorperson: g o’gradyperson: p kennellyperson: t hickeyperson: s óg ó ciardubháinperson: a o’donoghueperson: john mitchelsperson: r horganperson: ardfertperson: m brennanperson: churchillperson: c horanperson: glenfleskperson: p ó séperson: an ghaeltachtperson: g sayersperson: keelperson: k hurleyperson: s moloneyevent: world cupevent: munster sfcevent: sf v laoisorganisation: kildareorganisation: gaaorganisation: corkorganisation: tipperaryorganisation: sforganisation: bishopstownorganisation: st finbarr’sorganisation: clonakiltyorganisation: ballincolligorganisation: malloworganisation: carbery rangersorganisation: castletownbereorganisation: castlehavenorganisation: nemo rangersorganisation: éireorganisation: fermoyorganisation: bantry bluesorganisation: ballycloughorganisation: uibh laioreorganisation: jforganisation: limerickorganisation: ballydesmondorganisation: kinsaleorganisation: lyreorganisation: clyda roversorganisation: passageorganisation: rockchapelorganisation: mitchelstownorganisation: sfcorganisation: londonorganisation: ederney st joseph’sorganisation: devenish st mary’sorganisation: roslea shamrocksorganisation: enniskillen gaelsorganisation: parnellsorganisation: teemore shamrocksorganisation: spaorganisation: watervilleorganisation: st mary’sorganisation: templenoeorganisation: skelling rangersorganisation: cordalorganisation: castleisland desmondsorganisation: st
Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up