Offaly’s facilities frustrate McNamee

Offaly’s Niall McNamee has spoken of his embarrassment at seeing Tyrone’s state-of-the-art centre of excellence in Garvaghey and claimed more could be done by his own county board to facilitate their county teams.

Offaly’s facilities frustrate McNamee

McNamee was up North earlier this week delivering a talk and was taken aback by the facilities. Offaly’s county sides, by comparison, have had to travel to a number of venues during the winter — some outside the county — to find suitable facilities.

“If you look at the likes of Cork, the likes of Dublin, there’s no issue with these lads,” he said. “They’re getting everything laid on a plate for them... if I was child growing in Tyrone now, and I went and saw that that’s where their senior team is training, you’d put everything in your life to get there, to make that senior team to train there.

“It’s incredible. I was envious and embarrassed going home. This is how far we are behind everything.”

Offaly’s dearth of training facilities is in stark contrast to the redeveloped stadium on site at O’Connor Park in Tullamore and McNamee accepts that a different use of resources may have been of greater benefit.

“Looking back it probably should have been put into something else.”

Offaly’s footballers lost their Leinster Championship opener to Longford this month, extending to seven years their run without a win in the provincial championship. Their hurlers face Kilkenny in Nowlan Park on June 7.

Meanwhile, former Clare hurling boss Tony Considine has severed links with Galway senior club Turloughmore midway through their championship campaign. Club chairman Adrian Mooney thanked Considine for his hard work.

“It was an amicable decision,” said Mooney.“To be totally honest with you I wanted to look locally from day one. There are clubs in Galway and they are looking for big names and I think it’s a bit of a joke. We should go back to the old way, have a bit of pride in the club and the jersey.”

Considine’s side escaped relegation from the championship thanks to a one-point win over Kinvara through the back door after they lost their opening game. They lost their opening group game to Craughwell, scoring just 0-10 on the evening.

Elsewhere, Cork’s Eoin Cadogan has confirmed the hamstring injury which reduced him to the role of unused sub for last Sunday’s Munster hurling championship quarter-final against Waterford has cleared and will not be an issue before Sunday week’s replay.

The Limerick team to face Tipperary in Sunday’s Munster quarter-final shows just two changes in personnel to the side which contested last year’s All-Ireland semi-final. Corner-back Stephen Walsh and half-forward David Breen make way, with Shane Dowling handed the number 12 shirt and Kevin Downes selected at full-forward. Seamus Hickey reverts to corner-back having spent the majority of last summer operating in the Treaty forward unit.

Wexford manager Liam Dunne has named three U21 players in the team to play Antrim — corner-back Liam Ryan, wing-forward Jack Guiney and full-forward Conor McDonald. There are seven survivors from the team which exited the 2013 championship at the hands of Clare.

Limerick football John Brudair has handed championship debuts to five players for their Munster quarter-final clash with Tipperary tomorrow evening. Colm Moran and Sean O’Dea are selected in the full-forward line, Cian Sheehan and Michael Brosnan start at number 10 and 11 respectively, with Eoin Hanrahan is in the right corner-forward berth.

Veteran midfielder John Galvin is on the bench.

Limerick (Munster SHC v Tipperary): N Quaid; S Hickey, R McCarthy, T Condon; P O’Brien, W McNamara, G O‘Mahony; J Ryan, P Browne; S Dowling, D O’Grady, D Hannon; G Mulcahy, K Downes, S Tobin.

Wexford (Leinster SHC v Antrim): M Fanning; L Ryan, M O’Hanlon, K Rossiter; L Chin, A Shore, C Kenny; D O’Keefe, H Kehoe; P Morris, P Doran, J Guiney; R Jacob, C McDonald, L Óg McGovern.

Limerick (Munster SFC v Tipperary): D O’Sullivan; C Moran, J McCarthy, S O’Dea; I Corbett, S Lucey, P Browne; T Lee, D Tracey; M Brosnan, C Sheehan, S Buckley; E Hanrahan, G Collins, I Ryan.

Antrim (Ulster SFC v Fermanagh): P Flood; K O’Boyle, R Johnston, N Delargy; M Johnston, J Crozier, J Lavery; M McCann, N McKeever; C Murray, M Sweeney, P McCann; B Neeson, K Niblock, T McCann.

More in this section

CourtsGaaPlace: GarvagheyPlace: DublinPlace: TyronePlace: O’Connor ParkPlace: TullamorePlace: McNameePlace: LongfordPlace: Nowlan ParkPlace: GalwayPlace: CraughwellPerson: McNameePerson: Niall McNameePerson: Tony ConsidinePerson: Adrian MooneyPerson: ConsidinePerson: MooneyPerson: Eoin CadoganPerson: Stephen WalshPerson: David BreenPerson: Shane DowlingPerson: Kevin DownesPerson: Séamus HickeyPerson: Liam DunnePerson: Liam RyanPerson: Jack GuineyPerson: Conor McDonaldPerson: John BrudairPerson: Colm MoranPerson: Sean O’DeaPerson: Cian SheehanPerson: Michael BrosnanPerson: Eoin HanrahanPerson: John GalvinPerson: N QuaidPerson: S HickeyPerson: R McCarthyPerson: T CondonPerson: P O’BrienPerson: W McNamaraPerson: G O‘MahonyPerson: J RyanPerson: P BrownePerson: S DowlingPerson: D O’GradyPerson: D HannonPerson: G MulcahyPerson: K DownesPerson: S TobinPerson: M FanningPerson: L RyanPerson: M O’HanlonPerson: K RossiterPerson: L ChinPerson: A ShorePerson: C KennyPerson: D O’KeefePerson: H KehoePerson: P MorrisPerson: P DoranPerson: J GuineyPerson: R JacobPerson: C McDonaldPerson: L Og McGovernPerson: D O’SullivanPerson: C MoranPerson: J McCarthyPerson: S O’DeaPerson: I CorbettPerson: S LuceyPerson: T LeePerson: D TraceyPerson: M BrosnanPerson: C SheehanPerson: S BuckleyPerson: E HanrahanPerson: G CollinsPerson: I RyanPerson: P FloodPerson: K O’BoylePerson: R JohnstonPerson: N DelargyPerson: M JohnstonPerson: J CrozierPerson: J LaveryPerson: M McCannPerson: N McKeeverPerson: C MurrayPerson: M SweeneyPerson: P McCannPerson: B NeesonPerson: K NiblockPerson: T McCannEvent: Leinster championshipEvent: Munster hurling championship quarter-finalEvent: Munster quarter-finalEvent: All-IrelandEvent: Munster quarterOrganisation: OffalyOrganisation: KilkennyOrganisation: ClareOrganisation: GalwayOrganisation: TurloughmoreOrganisation: ConsidineOrganisation: KinvaraOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: WexfordOrganisation: AntrimOrganisation: Munster SHCOrganisation: LeinsterOrganisation: Munster SFCOrganisation: Ulster SFCOrganisation: Fermanagh
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.227 s