Uncertainty over Cork squad won’t faze Hayes

The lot of a county intermediate manager can be a trying one.

As well as waiting to see who is and who isn’t available based on the senior selection, players have to balance their commitments with those of other masters. Cork boss Liam Hayes is in his third year in charge, however, and is well used to the uncertainty.

“That’s all part of it,” he said.

“I suppose this year it has been tougher because UCC and CIT both went so far in the Fitzgibbon Cup and we’re out in the quarter-final of the Munster so we started a bit earlier.

“Then you had all the football championship games in the last few weeks so the clubs were calling on them too. It’s just that bit difficult to organise but we’re happy with what we’ve done, we played Kilkenny, Limerick and our own U21s, games like that.”

Cork, unlike most counties, cannot pick players who played senior county championship last year but still boast an experienced side. However Ryan points out it could be even more experienced.

“We have lost a lot,” he said.

“Last year, Bill Cooper was with us, Rob O’Shea was, we had Brian Lawton. We must be doing something right that they’re going on to the senior panel!

“It is experienced enough, though. When you have players who have played senior, like Ross Cashman, Michael O’Sullivan and Peter O’Brien, willing to play it shows that it means something.

“It’s an opportunity for intermediate players who mightn’t otherwise get the chance to wear the jersey.”

CORK: R Cunningham (Youghal); B O’Sullivan (Fermoy), A Dennehy (Charleville), J O’Callaghan (Inniscarra); C Murphy (Mallow), R Cashman (Kilbrittain), M Walsh (Kildorrery); N Kelly (Mayfield), J Cronin (Lisgoold); B Lawton (Castlemartyr), P O’Brien (Kildorrery), M O’Sullivan (Tracton); C Casey (Inniscarra), J Wall (Kilbrittain), M Kennefick (Ballygarvan).

Subs: J McSweeney (Bandon), B Ó Tuama (Castlemartyr), J Grace (Youghal), T Healy (Buttevant), C Barry (Castlelyons), C Spillane (Castlelyons), R Crowley (Bandon), D Drake (Carrigaline), J Sheehan (Argideen Rangers).

WATERFORD: S Barry (Lismore); C Burke (Roanmore), M Wyse (Passage), S Roche (Shamrocks); J Roche (Passage), K Power (Clonea), S Keating (Ardmore); P Walsh (Passage), S Roche (Mount Sion); K Fitzgerald (Passage), G Crotty (Dungarvan), M Harney (Bonmahon); T Connors (Passage), R Donnelly (Dungarvan), T Ryan (Tallow).

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd