Condon's goal makes it safe for Seandún

Beara 0-15 Seandún 1-17

Paul Condon’s goal a minute into the second-half proved crucial in a thrilling contest in Dunmanway.

Beara led the city divisional side by a point at the break but a third-quarter scoring burst of 1-6 saw Seandún build an unassailable lead and run out merited winners to set up a mouth-watering clash with Carbery.

Condon contributed 1-4 of Seandún’s winning total but the Mayfield man was well supported in attack by the tireless Eoin Buckley, who kicked five points from play and St Michael’s Paul Cronin who added a further 0-4.

Add to that the effective midfield tandem of Jason Kind plus Killian Brosnan and Seandún had a winning formula Beara simply couldn’t overcome.

David Harrington and Andrew O’Sullivan toiled hard on behalf of the losing side whose wayward shooting and inability to break through a determined Seandún rearguard in the closing stages made for a frustrating afternoon.

The sides were tied 0-4 apiece at the end of a scrappy opening quarter before Beara opened up a three-point lead, including a fine Andrew O’Sullivan solo effort.

Seandún refused to panic and enjoyed their best spell with Eoin Buckley, Conor Buckley and Paul Condon raising white flags in quick succession.

Seandún’s explosive start to the second-half — including Paul Condon’s goal — set up the city side’s win with late Eoin Buckley and Conor Buckley points putting the seal on a memorable five-point victory.

Scorers for Seandún: P Condon (1-4, 0-2fs), E Buckley (0-5), P Cronin (0-4, 3fs), C Buckley (0-3), J Kind (0-1).

Scorers for Beara: D Harrington (0-6, 2fs), A O’Sullivan (0-3, 1f), D Fenton (2fs), ST O’Sullivan (0-2 each), L Harrington, F Dwyer (0-1 each).

SEANDÚN: A Kidney (Passage); E Murphy (Passage), E O’Brien (Passage), P Fitzgerald (Mayfield); N McCarthy (Passage), E Murnane (Whites Cross), S O’Sullivan (Mayfield); J Kind (Passage), K Brosnan (Brian Dillons); C Buckley (Whites Cross), P Cronin (St Michael’s), D Cremin (St Michael’s); M Ryan (St Michael’s), P Condon (Mayfield), E Buckley (St Michael’s).

Subs: M Kelleher (Whites Cross) for N McCarthy (45), D O’Driscoll (Passage) for M Ryan (48).

BEARA: D Galvin (Glengarriff), L Harrington (Castletownbere), J Goggin (Adrigole), E Murphy (Garnish); T Collins (Castletownbere), J Harrington (Garnish), L Harrington (Adrigole); A O’Sullivan (Castletownbere), S McCarthy (Castletownbere); F Dwyer (Urhan), D Fenton (Castletownbere), ST O’Sullivan (Garnish), V Lehane (Urhan), BT O’Sullivan (Garnish), D Harrington (Adrigole).

Subs: C Murphy (Garnish) for J Goggin (40), TJ O’Sullivan (Adrigole) for F Dwyer (43), C Lowney (Urhan) for V Lehane (48), S O’Sullivan (Castletownbere) for S McCarthy (55).

Referee: D Murnane (Macroom).

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd