Tipp have the firepower to deny Rebels

When David Power led the Tipperary minors to victory over Cork in Páirc Uí Chaoimh in 2009, the joyful visiting fans staged an impromptu pitch invasion, such was the rarity of the achievement.

Tipp have the firepower to deny Rebels

But times have changed and the sight of the red jersey doesn’t hold anything like the same fear for the Premier county, who have become an underage force to be reckoned with in the last four years.

Captain and full-forward Michael Quinlivan leads the line but Greg Henry and Liam McGrath are both capable operators and the midfield pairing of Steven O’Brien and Colin O’Riordan can provide a strong platform. For Cork, Kevin Fulignati, who played in defence in Cork’s other two games, is named at midfield alongside Ian Maguire, but Cork’s wing-forwards Killian O’Hanlon and Seán Kiely are comfortable operators around the middle. Up front, in the absence of Cathal Vaughan, Dan MacEoin and Alan Cadogan have picked up a lot of the scoring slack and John Corkery can also contribute.

Verdict: Tipperary

CORK: M Martin (Nemo Rangers); J Davis (Douglas), C Dorman (Bishopstown), S Cronin (Nemo Rangers); B O’Driscoll (Tadhg Mac Cárthaigh), S White (Clonakilty), K Crowley (Millstreet); K Fulignati (Nemo Rangers), I Maguire (St Finbarr’s); K O’Hanlon (Kilshannig), M Sugrue (Bandon), S Kiely (Ballincollig), D Mac Eoin (Ilen Rovers), J Corkery (Aghabullogue), A Cadogan (Douglas).

Subs: J McDonnell (St Finbarr’s), S Ryan (do.), K Histon (Cobh), TJ Brosnan (Newmarket), K Kavanagh (Carrigaline), D Murphy (Valley Rovers), K McIntyre (Carrigaline), D Harrington (Adrigole), C O’Sullivan (Clyda Rovers).

TIPPERARY: G Slattery (Cashel King Cormacs); N O’Sullivan (Moycarkey-Borris), J Feehan (Killenaule), C O’Sullivan (Galtee Rovers); A McGuire (Kilsheelan-Kilcash), S Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials), B Maher (Kilsheelan-Kilcash); S O’Brien (Ballina), C O’Riordan (JK Brackens); J McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), I Fahey (Clonmel Commercials), G Henry (Killenaule); L McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), M Quinlivan (Clonmel Commercials), S Flynn (Fr Sheehys).

More in this section

courtsgaafootballplace: páirc uí chaoimhperson: david powerperson: michael quinlivanperson: greg henryperson: liam mcgrathperson: steven o’brienperson: colin o’riordanperson: kevin fulignatiperson: ian maguireperson: killian o’hanlonperson: seán kielyperson: cathal vaughanperson: dan maceoinperson: alan cadoganperson: john corkeryperson: m martinperson: j davisperson: c dormanperson: s croninperson: b o’driscollperson: mac carthaighperson: s whiteperson: k crowleyperson: k fulignatiperson: i maguireperson: k o’hanlonperson: m sugrueperson: s kielyperson: d mac eoinperson: j corkeryperson: a cadoganperson: j mcdonnellperson: s ryanperson: k histonperson: tj brosnanperson: k kavanaghperson: d murphyperson: k mcintyreperson: d harringtonperson: c o’sullivanperson: g slatteryperson: n o’sullivanperson: j feehanperson: killenauleperson: a mcguireperson: kilcashperson: s kennedyperson: b maherperson: kilsheelanperson: s o’brienperson: c o’riordanperson: jk brackensperson: j mcgrathperson: i faheyperson: g henryperson: l mcgrathperson: m quinlivanperson: s flynnperson: fr sheehysorganisation: tipperaryorganisation: corkorganisation: nemo rangersorganisation: douglasorganisation: bishopstownorganisation: tadhgorganisation: clonakiltyorganisation: millstreetorganisation: st finbarr’sorganisation: kilshannigorganisation: bandonorganisation: ballincolligorganisation: ilen roversorganisation: aghabullogueorganisation: cobhorganisation: newmarketorganisation: carrigalineorganisation: valley roversorganisation: clyda roversorganisation: cashel king cormacsorganisation: galtee roversorganisation: clonmel commercialsorganisation: ballinaorganisation: loughmore
Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up