Wicklow’s late spree rocks Tipp

Tipperary 0-22 Wicklow 4-12

Wicklow’s late spree rocks Tipp

But Harry Murphy’s charges still missed out on promotion as Clare beat Antrim to join Tipperary in Division 3 of the Allianz Football League next year.

Carelessness cost Tipperary their unbeaten 2014 record at Semple Stadium as Rory Finn, James Stafford and Seanie Furlong struck three goals in as many minutes to complete a remarkable comeback.

Both Tipp and Wicklow finished with 14 men as the visitors lost full-back Damian Power to a second yellow early in the second-half, before Peter Acheson was dismissed with two minutes remaining.

Tipp led 0-8 to 0-7 at half-time and had cruised into a 0-18 to 0-11 lead before Leighton Glynn netted a 60th minute penalty for Wicklow. Then came the incredible scoring burst that sealed Wicklow’s win.

Scorers for Tipperary: C Sweeney 0-5 (0-3f), P Austin 0-4, B Grogan 0-3 (2f), P Acheson, D Leahy & B Mulvihill 0-2 each, R Kiely, L Egan, B O’Brien & P Dalton 0-1 each.

Scorers for Wicklow: S Furlong 1-4 (0-3f), R Finn 1-2, L Glynn 1-2 (1-0 pen, 0-1f), J Stafford 1-0, K Murphy, P McWalter, N Gaffney & P Cunningham 0-1 each.

TIPPERARY: M O’Donnell; C McDonald, P Codd, J Coghlan; R Kiely, P Acheson, D Leahy; A Matassa, L Egan; P Austin, B Grogan, A Campbell; B Fox, C McCullagh, C Sweeney.

Subs: B Mulvihill for McCullagh (44), P Dalton for Kiely (45), D Lynch for McDonald (60), B O’Brien for Grogan (62) T Hassett for Austin (65), G Hally for Coughlan (67).

WICKLOW: R Lambert; C Hyland, D Power, A Byrne; K Murphy, P McWalter, D Healy; A McLoughlin, N Gaffney; R Finn, P Earls, D Hayden; L Glynn, S Furlong, P Cunningham.

Subs: J Stafford for Earls (h.t.), C McGraynor for Cunningham (51), A Murphy for Byrne (52), P Dalton for McWalter (52), C Murphy for McLoughlin (54).

Referee: J Henry (Mayo).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up