Hanrahan set to make debut for Rebels

Debutant goalkeeper David Hanrahan is one of eight changes on the Cork football side for Sunday’s Allianz Football League Division 1 clash with Tyrone at Páirc Uí Rinn next weekend.

Douglas clubman Hanrahan comes in for Ken O’Halloran between the posts, while no defender who started against Mayo last time out is selected in the same position. Tom Clancy of Clonakilty drops to full-back, flanked by Eoin Cadogan and Noel Galvin, with captain Michael Shields at centre-back, Fermoy’s Tomás Clancy and James Loughrey on the wings.

Fintan Goold takes over from Andrew O’Sullivan at midfield with John O’Rourke and Mark Collins picked in the two wing-forward slots. John Hayes replaces Donncha O’Connor in the full-forward line.

Both Cork games on Sunday will be featured live on TG4. The footballers’ clash will be screened at 2pm followed by the Allianz Hurling League Division 1 quarter-final against Tipperary in Semple Stadium at 3.45pm.

Cork had hoped that Tipp would travel to Páirc Uí Rinn for that game, with the counties having played in Thurles in the 2012 league semi-final, but a toss for venue took place. At last night’s Cork County Board meeting, county chairman Bob Ryan said: “We regret the decision pertaining to the matches next Sunday.

“It’s not very satisfactory from the county’s point of view but it’s the situation that’s there, we have no choice but to deal with it.”

Meanwhile, next year’s annual GAA Congress will take place at the Slieve Russell Hotel in Ballyconnell, Co. Cavan.

Last year, the association took the decision that, where practicable, a Congress where a new president was being inaugurated would take place in the home county of the new incumbent.

With the current president-elect, Cavan’s Aogán Ó Fearghail, having been voted in at last month’s Congress, he will be honoured under this new system, as the GAA Central Council recommends the 2016 and ’17 congresses take place at headquarters.

CORK (NFL v Tyrone): D Hanrahan (Douglas); E Cadogan (Douglas), Tom Clancy (Clonakilty), N Galvin (Ballincollig); Tomás Clancy (Fermoy), M Shields (St Finbarr’s), J Loughrey (Mallow); A Walsh (Kanturk), F Goold (Macroom); J O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers), P Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers), M Collins (Castlehaven); D Goulding (Éire Óg), B Hurley (Castlehaven), J Hayes (Carbery Rangers).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up