Gaffney inspires Kilkenny

Two first-half Andrew Gaffney goals in Templemore secured Kilkenny CBS’s passage to the Masita All-Ireland Colleges Senior A hurling championship final.

After Gaffney’s second strike in the 12th minute, the victors were never less than four points ahead and, despite the heroic efforts of Colin Ryan, the Doon lads never looked like getting the goals they needed.

The fact that Doon only scored two points from play during the hour, along with a series of missed chances, proved costly in their bid to make the decider.

The Limerick side took the lead through Dean Coleman in the first minute but Gaffney got the first of his goals within a minute and his second confirmed Kilkenny CBS’s superiority in attack.

Those goals followed another incident-packed passage of play in which the Leinster champions twice hit the post with similar efforts which looked score-bound.

Coleman and Ryan were a handful up front in the early stages but Kilkenny’s full-back line grew in confidence and they rarely afforded the duo much space in the second half.

Cathal McGrath from the John Lockes club was particularly effective snuffing out any Doon half-chances near the goal but, in truth, it was a collective effort to keep their net intact.

The likes of Gaffney, Luke Scanlon, Robbie Buckley and JP Treacy kept the scoreboard ticking over as the game drew near its end and CBS’s place in the final never looked in danger.

Having won the Leinster competition, the CBS are likely to be favourites in the final but won’t be complacent as they prepare to meet their neighbours St Kieran’s in a first all-Kilkenny final .

Scorers for Kilkenny CBS: A Gaffney 2-2 (2F), R Buckley 0-2, JP Treacy 0-2 (1F), H Lawlor 0-1, L Scanlon 0-1, M McWey 0-1.

Scorers for Scoil na Tríonóide Naofa: C Ryan 0-9 (8F), D Coleman 0-1.

KILKENNY CBS: D Holohan, K Galvin, C McGrath, C Doheny, G Bryan, E Cody, P Deegan, N Mullins, JP Treacy, H Lawlor, L Scanlon, A Gaffney, R Buckley, J Byrne, R Murphy.

Subs: D Bolger for E Cody, J Lenehan for R Murphy, M McWey for H Lawlor.

SCOIL NA TRÍONÓIDE NAOFA: S Stapleton, B McPartland, T Hayes, D Roche, B McCarthy, S Ryan, S O’Connell, M Dean, P Cummins, B Murphy, D Buckley, C Ryan, M Coleman, D Coleman, J Lonergan. Subs: A Coleman for M Coleman, M Feehan for S. Ryan.

Referee: C Browne (Galway).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up