Tipp rejig for clash with Dubs

There are four changes in the Tipperary side for Sunday’s clash with Dublin at Semple Stadium in the final round of Division 1A of the Allianz Hurling League (2pm).

Tipp rejig for clash with Dubs

Since the loss to Galway last week, Darragh Egan — who has previously played in attack for the county — replaces Darren Gleeson in goal, while Conor O’Brien comes in for the injured Pádraic Maher in defence.

Conor O’Mahony drops from centre-back to full-back, while Michael Cahill is now in the half-back line alongside O’Brien and captain Brendan Maher, who drops back from midfield.

Shane McGrath goes in the opposite direction and he is now partnered by Kieran Bergin in midfield. James Woodlock, who was alongside Brendan Maher against the Tribesmen, is now placed at left half-forward, with the ill Conor Kenny missing out. Jason Forde replaces Michael Heffernan in the full-forward line.

Cork, who will secure the Division 1B title and promotion to the top tier with a win against Wexford at Páirc Uí Rinn, have also made four alterations in personnel following the hard-fought victory against Antrim.

Anthony Nash takes back the number 1 shirt from Darren McCarthy and Shane O’Neill, who missed the clash with the Glensmen due to study leave, is back in the full-back line, as Eoin Keane drops to the bench.

William Egan is unavailable due to college commitments this week and he is indirectly replaced by Aidan Walsh, who is selected at left half-forward. Daniel Kearney drops from the wing to midfield, from where Lorcán McLoughlin moves to half-back.

The other change sees Stephen Moylan take over from Brian Hartnett in the full-forward line.

Dual player Eoin Cadogan has a hamstring injury, while Damien Cahalane, who has yet to feature for the Cork footballers this year, is named on the substitutes’ bench, as he was against Offaly.

CORK (NHL v Wexford): A Nash (Kanturk); S O’Neill (Bishopstown), S McDonnell (Glen Rovers), K Murphy (Erin’s Own); L McLoughlin (Kanturk), C Joyce (Na Piarsaigh), S White (Ballygarvan); D Kearney (Sarsfields), P Cronin (Bishopstown); B Lawton (Castlemartyr), S Harnedy (St Ita’s), A Walsh (Kanturk); P Horgan (Glen Rovers), C Lehane (Midleton), S Moylan (Douglas).

Subs: D McCarthy (Ballymartle), D Cahalane (St Finbarr’s), K Burke (Midleton), E Keane (St Finbarr’s), R O’Shea (Carrigaline), P Haughney (Midleton), C McCarthy (Sarsfields), B Hartnett (Midleton), A Cadogan (Douglas), J Coughlan (Newtownshandrum), M O’Sullivan (Tracton).

KERRY (NHL v London): N Leen (Ballyduff); T Casey (Causeway), L Boyle (Ballyduff), D Goulding (Ballyduff); J Leahy (Causeway), T Murnane (Kilmoyley), A Fealy (Causeway); B Brosnan (Lixnaw), D Dineen (St Brendan’s); P Lucid (Ballyheigue), B O’Leary (Abbeydorney), D Butler (Knockavilla Donaskeigh Kickhams, Tipperary); P O’Connor (Kilmoyley), P Boyle (Ballyduff), K Carmody (Causeway).

TIPPERARY (NHL v Dublin): D Egan (Kildangan); P Stapleton (Borris-Ileigh), C O’Mahony (Newport), C Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill); C O’Brien (Éire Óg Annacarty), B Maher (Borris-Ileigh), M Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields); K Bergin (Killenaule), S McGrath (Ballinahinch); J O’Dwyer (Killenaule), N McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), J Woodlock (Drom & Inch); J Forde (Silvermines), S Callanan (Drom & Inch), Patrick Maher (Lorrha-Dorrha).

More in this section

courtsgaaplace: semple stadiumplace: páirc uí rinnplace: holycrossperson: darragh eganperson: darren gleesonperson: conor o’brienperson: pádraic maherperson: conor o’mahonyperson: michael cahillperson: o’brienperson: brendan maherperson: shane mcgrathperson: kieran berginperson: james woodlockperson: conor kennyperson: jason fordeperson: michael heffernanperson: anthony nashperson: darren mccarthyperson: shane o’neillperson: eoin keaneperson: william eganperson: aidan walshperson: daniel kearneyperson: lorcan mcloughlinperson: stephen moylanperson: brian hartnettperson: eoin cadoganperson: damien cahalaneperson: s o’neillperson: s mcdonnellperson: k murphyperson: l mcloughlinperson: c joyceperson: na piarsaighperson: s whiteperson: d kearneyperson: p croninperson: b lawtonperson: s harnedyperson: a walshperson: p horganperson: c lehaneperson: s moylanperson: d mccarthyperson: d cahalaneperson: k burkeperson: e keaneperson: r o’sheaperson: p haughneyperson: c mccarthyperson: b hartnettperson: a cadoganperson: douglasperson: j coughlanperson: m o’sullivanperson: kerryperson: n leenperson: t caseyperson: l boyleperson: d gouldingperson: j leahyperson: t murnaneperson: a fealyperson: causewayperson: b brosnanperson: d dineenperson: pperson: b o’learyperson: d butlerperson: p o’connorperson: p boyleperson: k carmodyperson: d eganperson: p stapletonperson: borris-ileighperson: c o’mahonyperson: c barrettperson: ballycahillperson: c o’brienperson: eire og annacartyperson: b maherperson: m cahillperson: sarsfieldsperson: k berginperson: killenauleperson: s mcgrathperson: ballinahinchperson: j o’dwyerperson: n mcgrathperson: -castleineyperson: j woodlockperson: j fordeperson: s callananperson: patrick maherperson: lorrha-person: dorrhaorganisation: dubsorganisation: tipperaryorganisation: dublinorganisation: allianz hurling leagueorganisation: galwayorganisation: tribesmenorganisation: corkorganisation: wexfordorganisation: antrimorganisation: glensmenorganisation: offalyorganisation: nhlorganisation: kanturkorganisation: bishopstownorganisation: glen roversorganisation: erin’s ownorganisation: ballygarvanorganisation: sarsfieldsorganisation: castlemartyrorganisation: st ita’sorganisation: midletonorganisation: douglasorganisation: ballymartleorganisation: st finbarr’sorganisation: carrigalineorganisation: newtownshandrumorganisation: tractonorganisation: londonorganisation: causewayorganisation: kilmoyleyorganisation: lixnaworganisation: st brendan’sorganisation: ballyheigueorganisation: abbeydorneyorganisation: knockavilla donaskeighorganisation: kickhamsorganisation: kildanganorganisation: thurlesorganisation: drom &

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.