Gavin favours April start to league

Dublin football manager Jim Gavin believes that the Allianz Football League should not begin until April.

Gavin favours April start to league

The league resumes this weekend after a three-week gap and Gavin feels that, due to intervarsity and interprovincial championships in February, that it would be best to postpone the League’s commencement.

“I don’t see any reason why we couldn’t start the national league certainly after the Sigerson and the interpros. Sometime in April would seem to make a lot of sense.”

Dublin face Cork tomorrow night in Croke Park (7pm) and Gavin has made four changes following the win over Westmeath. Seán George comes in at full-back following suspension, with Philly McMahon moving to corner-back and Darragh Nelson losing out. James McCarthy comes in at centre-back with Bryan Cullen and Cormac Costello selected in attack. Shane Carthy, Eoghan O’Gara and Paul Mannion are the trio replaced.

Elsewhere, Seán Cavanagh is one of three changes to the Tyrone side for Sunday’s Division 1 clash with Kildare at Newbridge (throw-in 2pm).

Tiernan McCann and Shay McGuigan and Peter Hughes drop to the bench, while Ryan McKenna comes in at number 7 in a direct swap with McCann. Cavanagh is named at left half-forward with Conor McAliskey in the inside line.

DUBLIN (NFL v Cork): S Cluxton (Parnells); P McMahon (Ballymun Kickhams), S George (Ballymun Kickhams), M Fitzsimons (Cuala); E Lowndes (St Peregrine’s), J McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams), J Cooper (Na Fianna); C O’Sullivan (Kilmacud Crokes), MC Macauley (Ballyboden St Enda’s); P Flynn (Fingallians), C Kilkenny (Castleknock), B Cullen (Skerries Harps); K McManamon (St Jude’s), C Reddin (Naomh Maur), C Costello (Whitehall Colmcille).

TYRONE (NFL v Kildare): N Morgan (Edendork); A McCrory (Errigal Ciarán), C Clarke (Omagh), B Tierney (Omagh); C McGinley (Errigal Ciarán), P Harte (Errigal Ciarán), R McKenna (Eglish); C Grugan (Omagh), C Cavanagh (Moy); E McKenna (Eglish), R O’Neill (Omagh), S Cavanagh (Moy); D McCurry (Edendork), Matthew Donnelly (Trillick), C McAliskey (Clonoe).

LAOIS (NFL v Galway): G Brody (Portlaoise); R Kehoe (O’Dempseys), M Timmons (Graiguecullen), P O’Leary (O’Dempseys); D Strong (Emo), P Begley (Stradbally), P McMahon (Ballyroan Abbey); K Meaney (Arles-Kilcruise), J O’Loughlin (St Brigid’s); J Finn (Ballyfin), D Kingston (Arles-Killeen), B Sheehan (Emo); R Munnelly (Arles-Kilcrusie), D Conway (Arles-Kilcruise), C Begley (Parnells).

LEINSTER (Interprovincial SH panel v Connacht): D English (Carlow), G Maguire; P Kelly, M Carton, J McCaffrey; C Keaney, R O’Dwyer, L Rushe, D Sutcliffe (all Dublin), P Murphy, TJ Reid, T Walsh, E Larkin, W Walsh, C Fennelly, R Hogan (all Kilkenny), E Reilly (Laois), J Bergin, D Currams (both Offaly), C Kenny, K Rossiter, L Chin, J Guiney, A Shore, M Hanlon, R Keogh (all Wexford).

More in this section

courtsgaaplace: croke parkplace: newbridgeperson: gavinperson: jim gavinperson: sean georgeperson: philly mcmahonperson: darragh nelsonperson: james mccarthyperson: bryan cullenperson: cormac costelloperson: shane carthyperson: eoghan o’garaperson: paul mannionperson: sean cavanaghperson: tiernan mccannperson: shay mcguiganperson: peter hughesperson: ryan mckennaperson: mccannperson: cavanaghperson: conor mcaliskeyperson: s cluxtonperson: p mcmahonperson: s georgeperson: m fitzsimonsperson: e lowndesperson: j mccarthyperson: j cooperperson: c o’sullivanperson: mc macauleyperson: p flynnperson: c kilkennyperson: b cullenperson: k mcmanamonperson: c reddinperson: naomh maurperson: c costelloperson: tyroneperson: n morganperson: edendorkperson: a mccroryperson: errigal ciaranperson: c clarkeperson: b tierneyperson: c mcginleyperson: p harteperson: r mckennaperson: c gruganperson: c cavanaghperson: moyperson: e mckennaperson: r o’neillperson: s cavanaghperson: d mccurryperson: matthew donnellyperson: trillickperson: c mcaliskeyperson: laoisperson: g brodyperson: r kehoeperson: o’dempseysperson: m timmonsperson: p o’learyperson: d strongperson: emoperson: p begleyperson: stradballyperson: k meaneyperson: j o’loughlinperson: j finnperson: d kingstonperson: b sheehanperson: r munnellyperson: d conwayperson: c begleyperson: leinsterperson: d englishperson: g maguireperson: p kellyperson: m cartonperson: j mccaffreyperson: c keaneyperson: r o’dwyerperson: l rusheperson: d sutcliffeperson: p murphyperson: tj reidperson: t walshperson: e larkinperson: w walshperson: c fennellyperson: r hoganperson: e reillyperson: j berginperson: d curramsperson: offalyperson: c kennyperson: k rossiterperson: l chinperson: j guineyperson: a shoreperson: m hanlonperson: r keoghorganisation: dublinorganisation: allianzorganisation: leagueorganisation: corkorganisation: tyroneorganisation: kildareorganisation: nflorganisation: parnellsorganisation: ballymun kickhamsorganisation: cualaorganisation: st peregrine’sorganisation: kilmacud crokesorganisation: ballybodenorganisation: st enda’sorganisation: fingalliansorganisation: castleknockorganisation: skerries harpsorganisation: st jude’sorganisation: whitehall colmcilleorganisation: omaghorganisation: eglishorganisation: galwayorganisation: portlaoiseorganisation: arles-kilcruiseorganisation: st brigid’sorganisation: ballyfinorganisation: connachtorganisation: kilkennyorganisation: laoisorganisation: wexford
Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up