Dub stars Mannion and McCaffrey lead UCD past city rivals


Dub stars Mannion and McCaffrey lead UCD past city rivals

UCD, who last won this competition in 1996, clung on for a slender one-point victory in a dramatic tie at a blustery Belfield.

Mannion kicked 0-5, including four from play, while McCaffrey netted an early goal as UCD advanced to finals weekend for the first time since 2011.

At half-time, the hosts were 2-9 to 1-1 clear but they had to withstand a fierce second-half fightback from a DCU side playing with the wind.

Mannion, one of Dublin’s goalscorers in last year’s All-Ireland final victory over Mayo, said: “Speaking at half-time, we knew it was going to become more of a running game, with very few balls into the forward line. It was just a matter of making the most of that and when we did get our chances, that we could take them.”

And Mannion is now relishing the prospect of a semi-final shoot-out with University of Ulster, Jordanstown.

UCD, managed by former Galway All-Ireland winner John Divilly, netted from their very first attack as another Dubliner, Ryan Basquel, slotted home from close range.

A minute later, McCaffrey steamed forward for a well-taken goal and UCD were 2-2 to 0-0 in front before Craig Dunleavy responded with a seventh-minute goal for DCU.

But UCD, who have won this competition a record 32 times, recovered to establish an 11-point lead at the break.

After half-time, three-time winners DCU, who last year beat UCD by 10 points, outscored the winners by 2-9 to 1-2. Conor McGraynor’s 35th minute goal sparked the revival and when Dublin’s Conor McHugh netted in the 47th minute, the gap was down to just a point, 3-6 to 2-10.

Fintan Kelly levelled proceedings but Mark Hughes bagged a crucial UCD goal 11 minutes from time to settled the Belfield side>.

DCU battled on and Davy Byrne saw a late effort smothered up by some desperate UCD defending. With the last play of the game, McGraynor had a chance of a winning goal but as a host of UCD players stood on the line, the Wicklow forward’s drive was deflected over the bar.

Scorers for UCD: P Mannion 0-5 (1f), M Hughes 1-2, R Basquel 1-1, J McCaffrey 1-0, J Maloney 0-2, C Lenehan 0-1.

Scorers for DCU: C McHugh 1-3 (0-2f), C McGraynor 1-2 (0-2f), C Dunleavy 1-0, D Byrne 0-2, F Kelly, C Begley & G Sweeney 0-1 each.

UCD: E Keogh (Laois); R Wylie (Monaghan), David Byrne (Dublin), R McDaid (Dublin); P O’Harnan (Meath), J McCaffrey (Dublin), C Lenehan (Meath); M O’Hanlon (Wexford), C Sheridan (Meath); M Hughes (Longford), P Kingston (Laois), B Fenton (Dublin); J Maloney (Offaly), P Mannion (Dublin), R Basquel (Dublin).

Subs: C Downey (Meath) for Kingston (21), J Hayes (Cavan) for Fenton (43), P Reilly (Louth) for Lenehan (49), C Driver (Dublin) for Basquel (51), S McEntee (Meath) for Sheridan (54).

DCU: J Farrelly (Meath); E Murray (Galway), D Wrynn (Leitrim), C Cafferky (Roscommon); G Sweeney (Dublin), F Kelly (Roscommon), P Dooney (Monaghan); E O’Connor (Louth), T Flynn (Galway); Davy Byrne (Dublin), C Dunleavy (Dublin), M Quinn (Longford); C McHugh (Dublin), C McGraynor (Wicklow), G Kelly (Galway).

Subs: J Smith (Dublin) for Murray (15), C Begley (Laois) for Kelly (22), F O’Curraoin (Galway) for Dunleavy (half-time), W Lowry (Dublin) for O’Connor (54), F O’Shea (Cork) for Dooney (58).

Referee: Cormac Reilly (Meath).

More in this section

courtsgaaplace: meathplace: dublinplace: roscommonplace: monaghanplace: laoisperson: mannionperson: mccaffreyperson: paul mannionperson: jack mccaffreyperson: john divillyperson: ryan basquelperson: craig dunleavyperson: conor mcgraynorperson: conor mchughperson: fintan kellyperson: mark hughesperson: davy byrneperson: mcgraynorperson: wicklowperson: m hughesperson: j mccaffreyperson: j maloneyperson: lenehanperson: c mchughperson: c mcgraynorperson: c dunleavyperson: d byrneperson: f kellyperson: c begleyperson: g sweeneyperson: e keoghperson: r wylieperson: david byrneperson: r mcdaidperson: p o’harnanperson: c lenehanperson: m o’hanlonperson: c sheridanperson: b fentonperson: p mannionperson: r basquelperson: c downeyperson: j hayesperson: pperson: c driverperson: s mcenteeperson: sheridanperson: j farrellyperson: e murrayperson: d wrynnperson: c cafferkyperson: p dooneyperson: e o’connorperson: t flynnperson: m quinnperson: g kellyperson: j smithperson: kellyperson: f o’curraoinperson: dunleavyperson: w lowryperson: o’connorperson: f o’sheaperson: dooneyperson: cormac reillyevent: sigerson cupevent: all-irelandorganisation: ucdorganisation: dcuorganisation: dublinorganisation: mayoorganisation: university of ulsterorganisation: belfieldorganisation: laoisorganisation: monaghanorganisation: wexfordorganisation: meathorganisation: longfordorganisation: offalyorganisation: kingstonorganisation: cavanorganisation: louthorganisation: galwayorganisation: wickloworganisation: cork

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up