UUJ finish with a flourish

UUJ 1-14 IT Sligo 0-11

UUJ’s victory was despite the best efforts of Mayo footballer Evan Regan, who knocked over 10 of Sligo’s 11 points in a brilliant individual display.

The Ballina forward, who left the Mayo squad last year, hit seven points, including four from play, in the first-half.

Jordanstown started brightly and although their dangerous full-forward line of Jamie Clarke and Caolan O’Boyle was under utilised, they still led by 0-5 to 0-3 after 18 minutes.

Sligo’s best spell came before half-time when they racked up five points, with Regan’s left boot causing mayhem for Jordanstown, and Galway’s Paul Varley become their only other scorer as they led 0-8 to 0-6 at the break.

Regan tagged on a free five minutes after the restart to stretch the visitors’ lead to three points and a shock result looked on the cards.

However Jordanstown regrouped and Mattie Donnelly was hugely influential, hitting two points in the third quarter and carrying a lot of the ball into the Sligo defence.

Mark McHugh shackled playmaker Ronan O’Neill quite well but the Tyrone forward got on the scoresheet as UUJ’s dominance grew, with Killian Clarke and Niall McKeever also on target.

Sligo suffered an early blow when Cathal Mulryan was given a black card in the second minute for tripping Barry Tierney and Sligo sub Niall Walshe was also given a black card five minutes from the end.

Conor McAlliskey bagged 1-1 in the last quarter. The Tyrone forward gathered Kieran Hughes’ long ball in and his low finish to the far corner in the 57th minute sealed the win.

Scorers for UUJ: C O’Boyle (0-4frees), C McAlliskey (1-1), M Donnelly, K Clarke, N McKeever (0-2 each), P McPolin, R O’Neill, J Clarke (0-1 each).

Scorers for IT Sligo: E Regan (0-10, 5 frees, 1 45), P Varley (0-1).

UUJ: R Beggan (Monaghan); B Tierney (Tyrone), C McKaigue (Derry), C Walshe (Monaghan); P McPolin (Down), L Keaney (Donegal), K Clarke (Cavan); M Donnelly (Tyrone), N McKeever (Antrim); P Hughes (Sligo), R O’Neill (Tyrone), D Savage (Down); J Clarke (Armagh), C O’Boyle (Derry), C McAlliskey (Tyrone)

Subs: K Hughes (Monaghan) for P Hughes (35), K McKaigue (Derry) for McPolin (58), R Donnelly (Tyrone) for O’Neill (58)

IT SLIGO: A McCollig (Mayo); R Donovan (Sligo), M McWeeney (Leitrim), E Flanagan (Sligo); K Cawley (Sligo), K Brady (Cavan), P Varley (Galway); S O’Grady (Roscommon), D Geraghty (Mayo); M McHugh (Donegal), R McHugh (Donegal), C Mulryan (Galway); S Coen (Sligo), P O’Connor (Roscommon), E Regan (Mayo)

Subs: P Seoige (Galway) for Mulryan (BC, 2) J O’Shaughnessy (Mayo) for O’Connor (15), N Walshe (Cavan) for O’Grady (45), C Kearns (Sligo) for Walshe (BC, 55)

Referee: Ciarán Branagan (Down).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up