Coláiste Choilm’s cup joy

Simcox Cup final

Coláiste Choilm’s cup joy

Leading 1-8 to 0-8 at half-time after inspirational captain Ronan O’Toole’s goal in the 30th minute, Coláiste Choilm — who play at B level in Munster, while Macroom are in the Corn Uí Mhuirí — buttressed their advantage as his midfield partner Aaron O’Raw sent a low shot home in the 33rd minute.

Macroom points from the excellent Cian Healy and Joseph Ryan had kept them in touch, but the killer blow came on 36 minutes. Corner-forward Cian Kiely profited from a great O’Toole pass to create space and then converted to leave his side 3-8 to 0-10 in front.

Though Macroom never gave up the fight, they found a dogged Coláiste Choilm defence in mean form and Seán O’Donoghue added a fourth goal in the 52nd minute to make it 4-11 to 0-16.

John Murphy did reply with a late Macroom goal to give them hope, but it was Coláiste Choilm’s night.

Scorers for Coláiste Choilm: S O’Donoghue 1-3 (one free), C Kiely 1-2, A O’Raw 1-1, C Hughes 0-3, R O’Toole 1-0, L Collins 0-2, D McCarthy, S Curzon 0-1.

Scorers for De Le Salle Macroom: C Healy 0-7 (two frees), J Murphy 1-1, J Moynihan, J Ryan (frees) 0-3 each, P Kelleher 0-2, S Kelleher, S Foley 0-1.

COLÁISTE CHOILM: C Kelly (Éire Óg); K O’Regan (Ballinora), K O’Sullivan (Ballincollig), P Cronin (Newcestown); D Murphy (Éire Óg), M Lordan (Ballinora), D McCarthy (Éire Óg); A O’Raw (Inniscarra), R O’Toole (Éire Óg); L Collins (Inniscarra), S O’Donoghue (Inniscarra), S Curzon (Kilmurry); C Kiely (Ballincollig), C Hughes (Canovee), M O’Leary (Ballincollig).

Subs: D Hyland (Inniscarra) for O’Sullivan (35, BC), D Kelly (Éire Óg) for O’Leary (45).

DE LA SALLE MACROOM: A Duggan (Clondrohid); K Dwyer (Macroom), D O’Callaghan (Aghinagh), F McSweeney (Iveleary); D Murphy (Iveleary), S Kelleher (Aghinagh), B O’Leary (Iveleary); P Kelleher (Kilmichael), D Cahalane (Kilmurry); J Murphy (Macroom), J Moynihan (Canovee), S Foley (Kilmichael); W Coakley (Aghinagh), J Ryan (Kilmurry), C Healy (Newcestown).

Subs: D Creedon (Macroom) for Coakley (half-time), B O’Sullivan (Macroom) for Cahalane (40), M Healy (Canovee) for Foley (44).

Referee: K Murphy (Nemo Rangers).

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd