Fermoy withstand Ballinora pressure

Fermoy 2-11 Ballinora 4-03

The winners kicked 13 wides and the concession of goals at critical stages meant the outcome was in doubt until the final seconds.

Fermoy raced 1-5 to 0-1 ahead after 20 minutes – Ronan O’Callaghan converting a penalty, but Ballinora finished the half with goals from Michael Murphy (penalty) and Darragh O’Neill to trail (2-1 to 1-5).

Fermoy were better on the restart and a second goal from Martin Brennan put them five points clear. But, with Michael Hodge prominent at midfield, the momentum quickly switched back to Ballinora and their efforts were rewarded with a Conor Murphy goal. Once more, Fermoy regrouped through points from Brennan, Darragh O’Carroll and Kieran Morrison. With normal time elapsed, Fermoy led by five points but Ballinora stormed back again. A fourth major from Gary O’Halloran left just two points in it. Conor Brosnan did have a shot at goal in the dying seconds, but goalkeeper Ivan O’Callaghan saved, to the relief of Fermoy.

Scorers for Fermoy: M Brennan (1-1), R O’Callaghan (1-1, one pen, one free), R O’Hagan (0-3, two frees), P de Roiste (0-2), B O’Sullivan, D O’Carroll, K Morrison and J Hutchings (0-1 each).

Scorers for Ballinora: M Murphy (1-3, one pen, two frees), D O’Neill, C Murphy and G O’Halloran (1-0 each).

FERMOY: I O’Callaghan; A Baragry, J Daly, B O’Callaghan; S Shanahan, T Clancy (Capt), P Murphy; J Hutchings, R O’Hagan; P de Roiste, D O’Carroll, B O’Sullivan; M Brennan, R O’Callaghan, K Morrison.

Subs: J Campion for R O’Hagan (48), A Ahern for B O’Sullivan (58), D Conran for B O’Callaghan (59).

BALLINORA: E Walsh; D O’Neill, G O’Halloran (Capt), T Crotty; M Lordan, D O’Neill, B Crowley; M Hodge, T McGrath; I Wycherley, C Brosnan, C Murphy; M Murphy, D O’Neill, P Fitton.

Subs: N Collins for B Crowley (26), S Lucey for M Lordan (53), E Lucey for I Wycherley (53), J O’Regan for T McGrath (60).

Referee: C Ó Murchú (Brian Dillons).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up