Breen’s injury-time winner books semi-final spot for Ballina

Ballina (Tipperary) 1-12 Dromin-Athlacca (Limerick) 0-14

Ballina started the brighter and raced into an early six-point lead but Dromin-Athlacca fought back to leave just two points between the sides at the break.

David Hickey and Brian O’Connor had Ballina on the scoreboard early on before Sean McKeogh scored the game’s only goal, after he was the quickest to the react to Mark Moynihan’s save.

David Reidy kept his side in touch with a couple of frees and when James Kelleher fired over a well-worked point on the stroke of half time, it left Dromin-Athlacca trailing 0-6 to 1-5 at the break.

Dromin-Athlacca were much improved in the second half and five points inside the opening ten minutes saw them take the lead for the first time. But Ballina upped their intensity and, with the reliable Breen scoring six points, regained the lead midway through the second period.

As the game ticked into the closing stages, points from Eoin O’Leary and Kelleher looked to have won the game for Dromin-Athlacca. But Hickey’s point levelled the scores before Breen won the game with a terrific long-range free.

Scorers for Ballina: M Breen (0-6, 4fs), S McKeogh (1-0), D Hickey (0-3), S O’Brien, B O’Connor, B Stritch (0-1 each).

Scorers for Dromin-Athlacca: D Reidy (0-5, 4fs), M Reidy (0-3), J Kelleher (0-2), P Ryan, P Neenan, E O’Leary, J Lenihan (0-1 each).

BALLINA: M McKeogh; D Kent, P Cosgrave, B McKeogh; K Cosgrave, T Collins, D McKeogh; G O’Brien, M Breen; S McKeogh, D Hickey, S O’Brien; B O’Connor, B Stritch, TJ O’Connell.

Subs: R Kennedy for D McKeogh (30), E Hayes for B O’Connor (40), E Kent for S McKeogh (47), F Collins for D Kent (51).

DROMIND-ATHLACCA: M Moynihan; D Walsh, B Kelleher, D Kenny; G O’Leary, E Benson, T Breen; P Ryan, M Reidy; P Neenan, D Reidy, J Kelleher; T Ryan, E O’Leary, J Lenihan.

Subs: G Kelleher for T Ryan (52).

Referee: P Casey (Waterford).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up