Heslin stars as St Loman’s squeeze past Old Leighlin

St Loman’s (Westmeath) 1-11 Old Leighlin (Carlow) 1-10

Once again John Heslin was St Loman’s trump card. Heslin bagged a goal in the first half as the Mullingar side went in trailing at the break, by 1-5 to 1-6, after Cathal Coughlan had scored Old Leighlin’s goal in the 20th minute when his initial penalty had been saved by Stephen Gallagher.

In a tight, tense, hard fought second half, the sides were level at 1-9 each with eight minutes left before Old Leighlin goalkeeper James Clarke converted a 45.

However, a fisted point by Jason O’Toole in the 58th minute, followed by an injury-time Heslin free, secured victory for the Westmeath champions, who will now face the Dublin champions in the Leinster quarter-final.

Scorers for St Loman’s Mullingar: J Heslin (1-6, 0-4 frees), P Sharry (0-2, 1 45), S Dempsey, K Reilly, J O’Toole (0-1 each).

Scorers for Old Leighlin: C Coughlan (1-4), S Kinsella (2fs), P Hickey (0-2 each), J Clarke (45), H Gahan (0-1 each).

ST LOMAN’S: S Gallagher; S Gilmore, S Flynn, A Carroll; P Dowdall, G Glennon, D Whelan; C Kilmurray, B Murphy; E Price, K Reilly, W McGovern; P Sharry, J Heslin (capt), S Dempsey.

Subs: J O’Toole for A Carroll (15), G Hickey for B Murphy, (50, inj).

OLD LEIGHLIN: J Clarke; R Burke, Michael Meaney, G Hickey; E Fitzgerald, J Hayden, B Hayes; D Dowling, H Gahan; D Bambrick, P Hickey, Michael Meaney; C Coughlan, W Minchin, S Kinsella.

Subs: M Brennan for Micheal Meaney (full back) (25), S Kennedy for Micheal Meaney (half forward) (43), S Daly for R Burke (50).

Referee: Gary McCormack (Dublin).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up