Glynn points Glenealy to fourth title in succession

Glenealy 0-17 Bray Emmet’s 0-14

And in winning they equalled the run of senior hurling titles racked up by arch-rivals Carnew back in 1978-81.

Bray put it up to the champions even though they were appearing in their first final in 61 years, having last been victorious back in 1952.

The game was marked by a truly magnificent hurling display by dual club and county star Leighton Glynn. He ended up with a splendid haul of 11 points, nine of them from frees.

Wexford native Stephen Nolan caught the eye for the winners at centre-back while goalie Joe Driver brought off a couple of crucial saves in the first half, denying goals to Christy Moorehouse and Paul Cunningham.

Scorers for Glenealy: L Glynn (0-11, 9f), J O’Neill (0-2), W O’Gorman, T Doyle, G Byrne, R Byrne (0-1 each).

Scorers for Bray Emmets: M Lee (0-7, 4f), C Moorehouse (0-3), E Mason, L Maloney, M Browne, J Doyle (0-1 each).

GLENEALY: J Driver; W Kavanagh, MA O’Neill, R Byrne; G Byrne, S Nolan, MJ O’Neill; J O’Neill, N Driver; L Glynn, W O’Gorman, T Doyle; J Manley, E Glynn, D Staunton.

Subs: C O’Neill for Kavanagh, G Weir for Manley, G Byrne for N. Driver, N Driver for G Byrne.

BRAY EMMETS: P O’Reilly; R O’Brien, P Kiely, P Lee; M Lennon, J Henderson, K Lacey; G Ó Murchu, L Maloney; E Mason, P Cunningham, W Keane; M Lee, B Duggan, C Moorehouse.

Subs: J Doyle for M Lennon, M Browne for Lacey, N Sweeney for Ó Murchú, A Murphy for Duggan, L Kenny for O’Brien.

Referee: John Keenan (Aughrim).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up