Loughgiel on title march

Loughgiel 1-16 Ballygalget 1-09

The Antrim side seized the early initiative in Owenbeg through a goal from man of the match Benny McCarry after eight minutes.

That goal gave Loughgiel a cushion they never relinquished. Ballygalget, by contrast, had a poor first half and trailed by 1-8 to 0-4 at the interval.

The Down champions were much livelier in the second half and Gareth ‘Magic’ Johnson grabbed a goal back after 37 minutes.

But Loughgiel were always comfortable and had seven different players on the scoresheet compared to Ballygalget’s four.

Scorers for Loughgiel: B McCarry 1-4, L Watson 0-6 (4f) S Casey 0-2, D McKinley, B McAuley, D Laverty, E McCloskey 0-1 each.

Scorers for Ballygalget: D Toner 0-5 (2f), G Johnson 1-1 (0-1f), C Bailie 0-2 (1f), G Dynes 0-1.

LOUGHGIEL: D Quinn; P Gillan, N McGarry, R McCloskey; T Coyle, M Scullion, O McFadden; M McFadden, T McCloskey; M Connolly, D Laverty, E McCloskey; B McCarry, S Casey, L Watson.

Subs: D McKinley for Connolly (h-t), B McAuley for T McCloskey (50), D McCloskey for E McCloskey (53), S Dobbin for Laverty (58).

BALLYGALGET: G Clarke; S Clarke, S Johnson, P McManus; S Bailie, J McGrath, B Toner; E Clarke, G Clarke; J McManus, D McManus, C Bailie; G Dynes, G Johnson, D Toner.

Subs: J Smyth for S Johnson (30), A Smyth for D McManus (45), K McGreevy for Dynes (50).

Referee: Eamonn Hasson (Derry).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Home Delivery


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.