Milford on Ring’s radar

Fermoy 2-13 Fr O’Neill’s 0-11

A disappointed Tony Coyne thanked his Fr O’Neill’s players for their contribution this year, reflected on what might have been and vowed they’d be back. Long after the defeated Ballymacoda/Ladysbridge outfit retreated to the dressing room, Fermoy were still locked in conclave on the pitch, plotting the downfall of Milford and revenge.

“We have a lot to do to be right for Milford next week, they are a serious team,” said selector Denis Ring.

“Two years ago Milford beat us out the gate in the fourth round. We saw them against Ballygarvan and they were very comfortable. That is a huge game for us. They destroyed us the last time so it will be measure of how far we have come.”

Ring was relieved to return to action 12 weeks after their first round victory, but said the situation was a joke.

“We are waiting since the second of June which is a joke really. Our footballers played May 5 and we played the June 2 and now our second games were within six days of each other which is crazy. Most of the lads are on the two panels. ”

As the first quarter drew to a close, and leading by 0-3 to 0-1, corner-forward David Geary latched onto Jack Hutchings delivery, his sweetly struck ground stroke leaving Paul Colbert with no chance.

Thereafter, Hutchings, Liam Coleman (free) and David O’Sullivan traded efforts with Mark O’Keefe, Padraig McMahon and Liam O’Driscoll (three frees), with Fr O’Neill’s reducing the deficit to three when the winners pounced for a second goal from Paudie Shanahan.

Trailing by 2-6 to 0-7 at the break, the East Cork side desperately required a positive start and though Padraig McMahon fired over his second of the evening, they would add only three further scores to their tally.

Milford, be wary.

Scorers for Fermoy: L Coleman 0-7 (7f), D Geary 1-1, P Shanahan 1-0, B O’Sullivan 0-2, J Hutchings, T Clancy, A O’Connor 0-1 each.

Scorers for Fr O’Neill’s: L O’Driscoll 0-7 (4f, 2 65), P McMahon 0-2 (1f), M O’Keefe, R Cullinane 0-1 each.

FERMOY: C Quinn; P Clancy, J Daly, J O’Sullivan; R O’Callaghan, D O’Carroll, M Brennan; K Morrison, B O’Sullivan; J Hutchings, T Clancy, L Coleman; D Geary, P Shanahan, M Flynn.

Subs: A O’Connor for Flynn (57).

FR O’NEILL’S: P Colbert; T Millerick, P Higgins, J O’Droscill; K Hegarty, B Murphy, M O’Keefe; N Griffin, J Millerick; L O’Driscoll, Q Higgins, A Brett; P McMahon, R Cullinane, L Swayne.

Subs: E McCarthy for Millerick (28), D O’Driscoll for Higgins (55).

Referee: J Dorgan (Nemo Rangers).

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd