Rebels in cruise control as they ease into final

Clare 0-9 Cork 0-18

Rebels in cruise control as they ease into final

In another dominant showing, the Rebels rarely broke sweat in advancing to the Munster junior football championship decider and though the winning margin was not quite as substantial as their win over Limerick, the result was every bit as comfortable.

The home side offered little resistance to the pace and ferocity of Cork’s play and had the winners displayed a more ruthless streak in patches, this would have been a landslide.

Cork led 0-10 to 0-1 at the interval with Andrew O’Brien and Cathal Vaughan laying the early foundations in kicking three points apiece.

Thereafter, the only issue that remained in doubt for those who arrived early at Cusack Park was the size of the hammering.

In the end, Cork eased off the throttle ever so slightly with Clare’s Mark McCarthy kicking seven second-half points to keep a manner of respectability about proceedings.

At the other end, Cathal Vaughan continued to torment the Banner rearguard, notching five further minors with Fiachra Lynch, Eoghan Buckley and Kevin O’Driscoll also finding the target.

Scorers for Clare: M McCarthy (0-7, two frees); C O’Brien (0-1, one free); D O’Neill (0-1, one free).

Scorers for Cork: C Vaughan (0-8, five frees); A O’Brien (0-4); F Lynch (0-3); E Buckley (0-2); K O’Driscoll (0-1).

CLARE: T Burke; E Flanagan, S Collins, S Lineen; C Doohan, M Moloney, D McMahon; D O’Neill, K O’Connor; C O’Brien, E Finucane, E Brew; R O’Connor, J Looney, M McCarthy.

Subs: M O’Shea for C Doohan (half-time); E Cleary for R O’Connor (41); D Bolton for E Brew (45); M Lorigan for J Looney (45); L Corry for C O’Brien (58).

CORK: D Hanrahan; AJ O’Connor, E O’Mahony, K Harrington; Richard O’Sullivan, Rory O’Sullivan, S Kiely; R Deane, M O’Leary; C Vaughan, A O’Brien, C O’Driscoll; E Buckley, F Lynch, D Harrington.

Subs: K O’Driscoll for R Deane (37); M Vaughan for D Harrington (49); C Vaughan for M Sugrue (58); P Daly for Richard O’Sullivan (58); J Cronin for AJ O’Connor.

Referee: M Meade (Limerick).

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.295 s