O’Driscoll the driving force for Glanworth

Glanworth 2-9 Glanmire 1-7

Glanmire go into the second round where they will play the losers of Rockchapel and Fermoy.

Pierre O’Driscoll got Glanworth off the mark with a free. The corner forward was central to most of the action as they posted three more points before Tim Leahy landed Glanmire’s second point in the 28th minute. Glanworth continued to push forward and in first-half stoppage time a quick free from hard-working midfielder David Pyne was superbly fielded by Sheehan and sent low to the net.

Glanworth led 1-5 to 0-2 at half-time and then two minutes into the second half O’Riordan made no mistake this time rifling past O’Connell following excellent play from Robert O’Driscoll and Sheehan. A point quickly followed from Pierre O’Driscoll and the gap had increased to 10 points. Glanmire hit back and registered the next four points – two from placed balls courtesy of goalkeeper Brendan O’Connell to cut the gap back to six points (2-6 to 0-6).

By the end of the third quarter, Pyne and Brian Gallagher had picked off another two points for Glanworth. And they could have been further in front but for a point-blank save from O’Connell. Michael Cussen switched into full-forward where he was always a threat and he bagged a nice point on 58 minutes. Three minutes later he rifled to the net but with the clock already in added time, it was too little, too late.

Glanworth captain Sheehan kicked the final point as his side ran out five point winners.

Scorers for Glanworth: M Sheehan and S O’Riordan 1-1 each, P O’Driscoll 0-4 (0-2 frees), C Quirke, D Pyne and B Gallagher 0-1 each.

Scorers for Glanmire: M Cussen 1-3, B O’Connell 0-2 (0-1 free, 0-1 45m), T Leahy and D O’Connell (free) 0-1 each.

GLANWORTH: T Fitzgibbon; W Blackburn, D Gallagher, L Cotter; P Blackburn, S Finn, D Colfer; D Pyne, R O’Driscoll; S O’Riordan, G O’Neill, C Quirke; P O’Driscoll, B Gallagher, M Sheehan (capt).

Sub: S O’Keeffe for S Finn (50 mins inj).

GLANMIRE: B O’Connell; D O’Regan, J Leopold, D Murphy; C Harrington, D O’Connell, B Murphy; M Cussen (capt), J Cussen; T Leahy, K Burke, E McEvoy; J O’Keeffe, C Cummins, D Molden.

Subs: A O’Mahony for J O’Keeffe (ht); C Kelleher for C Harrington (35); J O’Sullivan for D Molden (40), N Hayes for E McEvoy (58).

Referee: C Ó Murchú (Brian Dillons).

More in this section

Join us for a special evening of Cheltenham chat on Friday March 12 at 6.30pm with racing legend and Irish Examiner columnist Ruby Walsh, Irish Examiner racing correspondent Tommy Lyons, and former champion jockey and tv presenter Mick Fitzgerald, author of Better than Sex.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Home Delivery


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.