JBM reshuffles Rebel deck for crunch Cats clash

Cork manager Jimmy Barry-Murphy has made four changes to the team that started against Galway last weekend for Sunday’s crunch Allianz Division 1A showdown with Kilkenny.

JBM reshuffles Rebel deck for crunch Cats clash

Both teams approach this eagerly-anticipated Nowlan Park clash knowing a victory will seal a passage to the semi-finals – with the losers possibly dumped into a relegation play-off.

Cork must plan without injured pair William Egan and Seamus Harnedy and Rebel selectors have been forced into a reshuffle.

Lorcan McLoughlin moves to wing back with Stephen White replacing Egan, who sustained finger damage in the draw with Galway.

Elsewhere, captain Patrick Cronin moves to midfield, with Daniel Kearney returning to partner the Bishopstown man at midfield.

Tom Kenny loses out as a result while Cian McCarthy rejoins the attack at the expense of Harnedy.

Stephen Moylan replaces Adrian Mannix and JBM is still without Stephen McDonnell and Jamie Coughlan, who remain on the injured list.

Meanwhile, Tipperary boss Eamon O’Shea has chosen Darren Gleeson in goal ahead of Brendan Cummins for the Premier County’s meeting with Clare at Semple Stadium.

In total, there are six changes in personnel from the team that started against Waterford at Walsh Park last Sunday.

An official Tipperary GAA press release last night confirmed that Gleeson will line out between the sticks, in a continuation of the goalkeeper rotation policy that O’Shea has used throughout the League to date.

In defence, Paddy Stapleton and Conor O’Mahony replace Donagh Maher and Thomas Stapleton, with vice-captain Brendan Maher stepping in for James Woodlock at midfield.

And in attack, 2010 All-Ireland winning captain Eoin Kelly starts along with John O’Dwyer, with Brian O’Meara and Adrian Ryan losing out.

The Galway team to play Waterford at Walsh Park next Sunday will be named this evening.

Boss Anthony Cunningham is planning without the services of Niall Healy and Barry Daly, who are both ruled out through injury.

But Cunningham is boosted by the return of All-Ireland senior club medallists Conor Cooney, David Burke, James Regan and Darragh Burke, who are available for selection.

Meanwhile, Antrim GAA chiefs have launched an impassioned appeal for the return of a world championship gold medal which has been stolen from ace handball player Fiona Shannon.

Last October, Shannon teamed up with her sister Sibeal to claim the Doubles title at the World championships, held at Dublin’s Citywesthotel.

CORK (SH v Kilkenny): A Nash; S O’Neill, B Murphy, C O’Sullivan; L McLoughlin, C Joyce, S White; D Kearney, P Cronin; C Lehane, C McCarthy, P O’Sullivan; S Moylan, L O’Farrell, P Horgan

TIPPERARY (SH v Clare): D Gleeson; P Stapleton, P Curran, M Cahill; C O’Brien, C O’Mahony, P Maher; B Maher, S McGrath; S Bourke, L Corbett, J O’Dwyer; E Kelly, S Callanan, N McGrath.

More in this section

courtsgaahurlingplace: nowlan parkplace: bishopstownplace: semple stadiumplace: walsh parkplace: dublinperson: jimmy barry-murphyperson: william eganperson: seamus harnedyperson: lorcan mcloughlinperson: stephen whiteperson: eganperson: patrick croninperson: daniel kearneyperson: tom kennyperson: cian mccarthyperson: harnedyperson: stephen moylanperson: adrian mannixperson: stephen mcdonnellperson: jamie coughlanperson: eamon o’sheaperson: darren gleesonperson: brendan cumminsperson: gleesonperson: o’sheaperson: paddy stapletonperson: conor o’mahonyperson: donagh maherperson: thomas stapletonperson: brendan maherperson: james woodlockperson: eoin kellyperson: john o’dwyerperson: brian o’mearaperson: adrian ryanperson: anthony cunninghamperson: niall healyperson: barry dalyperson: cunninghamperson: conor cooneyperson: david burkeperson: james reganperson: darragh burkeperson: fiona shannonperson: shannonperson: sibéalperson: corkperson: a nashperson: s o’neillperson: b murphyperson: c o’sullivanperson: l mcloughlinperson: c joyceperson: s whiteperson: d kearneyperson: p croninperson: c lehaneperson: c mccarthyperson: p o’sullivanperson: s moylanperson: l o’farrellperson: p horganperson: d gleesonperson: p stapletonperson: p curranperson: m cahillperson: c o’brienperson: c o’mahonyperson: p maherperson: b maherperson: s mcgrathperson: s bourkeperson: l corbettperson: j o’dwyerperson: e kellyperson: s callananperson: n mcgrathorganisation: jbmorganisation: rebelorganisation: corkorganisation: galwayorganisation: kilkennyorganisation: tipperaryorganisation: premier countyorganisation: clareorganisation: waterfordorganisation: gaaorganisation: all-irelandorganisation: antrim gaa
Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up