Cahalane and Clancy swap Rebel roles

The Cork U21 footballers have named an unchanged side from the team that beat Kerry a fortnight ago in the Munster quarter-final for tomorrow night’s last-four clash with Limerick in the Gaelic grounds (7.30pm).

There are, however, a number of positional switches with captain Damian Cahalane reverting to his favoured centre-back berth with Clonakilty’s Tom Clancy going to midfield in what is a direct swap from the way the team lined out in their opening game.

In attack, Cahalane’s Castlehaven clubmate Brian Hurley is named at full-forward with Nemo’s Luke Connolly being given the No 15 shirt.

Their match-winner against Kerry in Páirc Ui Rinn two weeks ago, Sean Kiely of Ballincollig, starts on the bench again.

It’s a strong team again for a Cork side aiming for their third consecutive provincial title, with manager John Cleary’s selection featuring eight of the side that lined out in last year’s Munster final win over Kerry.

For their part, Limerick will call upon five members of Maurice Horan’s senior panel for the game.

All U21s were rested from senior duty last weekend when Limerick travelled to London for an Allianz League game in Division 4.

Leading the senior contingent will be James O’Meara, who captains the team from full-back.

Limerick, managed by Cork native Tom McGlinchey, position Ian Corbett at centre-back. Corbett has been used at midfield in the seniors and played full-forward with IT Tralee in the Sigerson Cup.

The Limerick team includes six survivors from last season, when they fell at the first hurdle to Clare, 0-10 to 2-7.

Elsewhere, Tipperary manager David Power has made four changes in personnel from the team that beat Waterford for tomorrow evening’s Munster U21 football championship semi-final showdown with Clare at Semple Stadium.

Paddy Dalton, Niall O’Meara, Ian Fahey and Philip Quirke come into the side in place of Darragh Kearney, who is ill, Padráig O’Meara, John O’Callaghan and Billy Hewitt.

Clare, meanwhile, look set to be without two forwards from last year’s minor team.

Banner County boss Joe Garry has admitted Martin O’Leary is unlikely to play due to a hamstring injury and Eoin Cleary may not feature either as he is still working his way back to full fitness following a bout of glandular fever. Garry is set to finalise his team today but his selection will not be revealed until tomorrow, after players are notified.

CORK (U21FC v Limerick): D Hanrahan (Douglas); B O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh), C Dorman (Bishopstown), A Cronin (Nemo Rangers); TJ Brosnan (Newmarket), D Cahalane (Castlehaven), J Wall (Kilbrittain); T Clancy (Clonakilty), I Maguire (St Finbarrs); A Cadogan (Douglas), M Sugrue (Bandon), J O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers); D Mac Eoin (Ilen Rovers), B Hurley (Castlehaven), L Connolly (Nemo Rangers).

Subs: P Kirby (Tadhg Mac Carthaigh), C O’Sullivan (Clyda Rovers), K Crowley (Millstreet), K Fulignati (Nemo Rangers), S Kiely (Ballincollig), J Burns (St. Finbarrs), K Hallissey (Eire Óg), C Vaughan (Iveleary), T Hegarty (O’Donovan Rossa).

LIMERICK (U21 FC v Cork): J Brudair (Mountcollins); S Cahill (Mountcollins), J O’Meara (Ballysteen), B McCarthy (St Kierans); P White (St Marys Sean Finns, Rathkeale), I Corbett (Newcastle West), S Barrett (Kilmallock); D Treacy (St Kierans), P O’Donnell (Galbally); S Sheahan (St Marys Sean Finns, Rathkeale), M Brosnan (Dromcollogher-Broadford), D Frewen (Ballylanders); D Neville (Ballysteen), F O’Riordan (St Senans), P Nash (Kildimo-Pallaskenery).

Subs: J O’Meara (Fr Caseys), B Creamer (Cappamore), K Larkin (Banogue), J Lee (Newcastle West), K Meade (St Kierans), B Noonan (Dromcologher-Broadford), D O’Dea (Kilteely-Dromkeen), K O’Donoghue (Hospital-Herbertstown), M O’Leary (Newcastle West).

TIPPERARY (U21 FC v Clare): E Comerford; P Dalton, N O’Sullivan, C O’Sullivan; N O’Meara, S Kennedy, D Fitzell; S O’Brien, I Fahey; B Maher, P Quirke, D Leahy; L McGrath, M Quinlivan, S Leahy.

More in this section

CourtsGaaPlace: Páirc Uí RinnPlace: BallincolligPlace: LondonPlace: CorkPlace: TipperaryPlace: Semple StadiumPerson: CahalanePerson: ClancyPerson: Damian CahalanePerson: ClonakiltyPerson: Tom ClancyPerson: Brian HurleyPerson: Luke ConnollyPerson: Seán KielyPerson: John ClearyPerson: Maurice HoranPerson: James O’MearaPerson: Tom McGlincheyPerson: Ian CorbettPerson: CorbettPerson: David PowerPerson: Paddy DaltonPerson: Niall O’MearaPerson: Ian FaheyPerson: Philip QuirkePerson: Darragh KearneyPerson: Pádraig O’MearaPerson: John O’CallaghanPerson: Billy HewittPerson: ClarePerson: Joe GarryPerson: Martin O’LearyPerson: Eoin ClearyPerson: GarryPerson: CorkPerson: B O’DriscollPerson: MacCartháighPerson: C DormanPerson: CroninPerson: TJ BrosnanPerson: D CahalanePerson: J WallPerson: T ClancyPerson: I MaguirePerson: A CadoganPerson: M SugruePerson: J O’RourkePerson: D Mac EoinPerson: B HurleyPerson: L ConnollyPerson: P KirbyPerson: Mac CarthaighPerson: C O’SullivanPerson: K CrowleyPerson: K FulignatiPerson: S KielyPerson: J BurnsPerson: K HallisseyPerson: C VaughanPerson: T HegartyPerson: O’Donovan RossaPerson: LimerickPerson: J BrudairPerson: S CahillPerson: J O’MearaPerson: BallysteenPerson: B McCarthyPerson: P WhitePerson: Sean FinnsPerson: RathkealePerson: I CorbettPerson: S BarrettPerson: D TreacyPerson: KieransPerson: P O’DonnellPerson: GalballyPerson: S SheahanPerson: M BrosnanPerson: Dromcollogher-BroadfordPerson: D FrewenPerson: D NevillePerson: F O’RiordanPerson: P NashPerson: Kildimo-PallaskeneryPerson: Fr CaseysPerson: B CreamerPerson: CappamorePerson: K LarkinPerson: BanoguePerson: J LeePerson: K MeadePerson: B NoonanPerson: Dromcologher-BroadfordPerson: D O’DeaPerson: Kilteely-DromkeenPerson: K O’DonoghuePerson: M O’LearyPerson: E ComerfordPerson: P DaltonPerson: N O’SullivanPerson: N O’MearaPerson: S KennedyPerson: D FitzellPerson: S O’BrienPerson: I FaheyPerson: B MaherPerson: P QuirkePerson: D LeahyPerson: L McGrathPerson: M QuinlivanPerson: S LeahyEvent: Sigerson CupEvent: Munster U21 Football ChampionshipOrganisation: Cork U21Organisation: KerryOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: MunsterOrganisation: U21sOrganisation: IT TraleeOrganisation: ClareOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: Banner CountyOrganisation: U21FCOrganisation: TadhgOrganisation: BishopstownOrganisation: Nemo RangersOrganisation: NewmarketOrganisation: CastlehavenOrganisation: KilbrittainOrganisation: ClonakiltyOrganisation: St FinbarrsOrganisation: DouglasOrganisation: BandonOrganisation: Carbery RangersOrganisation: Ilen RoversOrganisation: Clyda RoversOrganisation: MillstreetOrganisation: BallincolligOrganisation: St. FinbarrsOrganisation: Éire ÓgOrganisation: U21 FCOrganisation: MountcollinsOrganisation: StOrganisation: St MarysOrganisation: Newcastle WestOrganisation: KilmallockOrganisation: St SenansOrganisation: Newcastle
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd