Cookstown win is extra special

Cookstown (Tyrone) 3-13Warrenpoint (Down) 1-11 (after extra-time)

Substitute Jason Quinn was their hero, shooting a late leveller for the Tyrone men, who now seek to repeat their 2010 All-Ireland win.

Ross McGarry kicked four of Warrenpoint’s five first half points from frees, but John Gilmore’s 27th minute goal sent Cookstown in with a 1-5 to 0-5 interval lead.

Warrenpoint forged ahead but Quinn rescued Cookstown, making it 2-7 to 1-10 at the end of normal time. The game turned as Gilmore grabbed his second. Warrenpoint’s Ruairi Cowan (2 yellow) and Shea Curran (straight red) were dismissed, and their challenge faded.

COOKSTOWN: M Rea, B Kelly, S Monaghan, D Hughes, R Pickering, M Murray, C O’Hare, C Mullan 0-1, Barry Mulligan 0-1, S McGarrity, B Hughes, M Hughes, J Gilmore 2-2, O Mulligan 0-3, J McGahan 1-3. Subs: M O’Connor for Monaghan, J Quinn 0-1 for McGarrity, Brian Mulligan for M Hughes, P Kelly 0-1 for O’Hare, T Mullan for Barry Mulligan, S McGarrity 0-1, Barry Mulligan for D Hughes, P McGurk for B Kelly, M McVeigh for McGahan.

WARRENPOINT: T Franklin, A Grimes, N McCartan, M O’Hare, R Boyle, C McCartan, J Murchan, R Mallon, P Traynor, G Smith 1-1, R Cowan, C McLoughlin, R McAleenan, R McGarry 0-9, 8f, G Morgan 0-1. Subs: S Curran for McLoughlin, J Grant for Morgan, C Clarke for Cowan, Cowan for Smith. Referee: P Hughes (Armagh)

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up