Tense ties likely in battle for quarter-final spots

The last of the round-robin games in Corn Uí Mhuirí (Munster Colleges SFC) take place today with the four quarter-final places up for grabs.

Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne, who celebrated a famous win last season, continue to impress this term with a 100% record in Group B, and the Dingle school will be hoping for more of the same when they travel to Newcastle West for a meeting with Clonmel CBS. The Tipperary side need the points to stay in the running as West Limerick Schools are also on two points ahead of their meeting with North Clare Schools in Meelick.

Last season’s defeated finalists, De La Salle Macroom, top Group A and have already been awarded the two points from today’s postponed clash with West Clare Schools. Also in this section, Intermediate School Killorglin is up against Rochestown College. Both of these have won one and lost one game, so it is all to play for at the Rathmore venue.

The remaining two groups are made up of three teams each. The Group C tie between St Fachtna’s Skibereen and St Brendan’s Killarney will be keenly contested in Cloughduv as it will determine who finishes first and second. These two have beaten Tralee CBS, and no doubt the ‘Sem’ would love to get back to their winning ways of 2010.

It is still all to play for in Group D. Should Coláiste na Sceilge defeat Coláiste Chríost Rí (victors in 2011), it would mean all three teams (St Flannan’s included) would finish up with two points. However, should the Cork city school prevail at the Crokes pitch in Killarney, they would finish top and the Ennis College would be second.

Elsewhere, in the Munster U15 football final (Corn Uí Mhóráin), Dr Crokes’ Killarney home on Lewis Road is the venue for a derby between Tralee CBS and St Brendan’s, Killarney. Also to be decided is the final of the Dean Ryan Cup (U16 ½ hurling) in Dungarvan, Gaelcholáiste Mhuire Cork against De La Salle Waterford.

Today: Corn Uí Mhuirí: (1.30pm, except where stated)

Group A: IS Killorglin v Rochestown College, Rathmore.; DLS Macroom v West Clare Schools, Ballyagran (OFF); Group B: Clonmel CBS v PS Chorca Dhuibhne, Newcastle West; West Limerick Schools v North Clare Schools, Meelick; Group C: St Fachtna’s Skibbereen v St. Brendan’s Killarney, Cloughduv; Group D: Coláiste na Sceilge v Coláiste Chríost Rí, Lewis Rd, Killarney, 2pm.

Dean Ryan Cup final: Gaelcholáiste Mhuire Cork v DLS College Waterford, Dungarvan, 1.30.

Corn Uí Mhóráin final: St Brendan’s College Killarney v Tralee CBS, Killarney, 1.30pm.

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.251 s