Ryan steps down as Model boss

Jason Ryan last night resigned as Wexford football manager after five seasons in charge.

The Waterford man’s departure following their qualifier defeat to Tipperary in July was released on the county’s Twitter account.

Ryan expressed uncertainty about remaining on in the position following the loss and the county board recently conducted a review into a season in which Wexford were promoted to Division 2.

There had been speculation that board officials wanted a change in Ryan’s management team.

Kevin Kehoe is now fancied to take over from Ryan, who could now be in the running to take over the Waterford position vacated by John Owens.

Meanwhile, the Donegal County Board last night distanced themselves from speculation about their team’s homecoming on the Monday after the All-Ireland final.

The Letterkenny Chamber of Commerce president had written a letter to the county board requesting that the event be staged there, as opposed to its traditional base in Donegal town.

In a statement released yesterday, an angry Donegal County Board said that the suggestions that an argument had developed were incorrect and the reporting was unhelpful to the team.

“The county executive, in conjunction with senior team management and players, will decide on the issue of a homecoming,” it read.

“Talks of a homecoming at this point are entirely premature and the focus should be on match preparation rather than events after the final.

“Media reports today claiming that a huge row has broken out among Donegal GAA fans are false.

“This story has been generated by certain media outlets in conjunction with persuasive groups and some elected representatives. This is most unhelpful as we prepare for our second ever All-Ireland final.”

Karl Lacey and Neil Gallagher’s injuries picked up playing club league games at the weekend are not serious.

Laois native Maurice Deegan has been appointed as referee for September 23’s All-Ireland SFC final.

The Donegal-Mayo decider is the Stradbally man’s second big day, having previously taken charge of the 2008 game between Tyrone and Kerry.

Deegan, who was in the man in the middle for the Cork v Mayo Division 1 final, has only taken charge of one Mayo Championship game this year — their All-Ireland quarter-final win over Down — while he has yet to officiate in a SFC fixture involving Donegal.

He will be assisted by fellow Laois man Eddie Kinsella as one linesman and Meath’s David Coldrick as the other and stand-by referee. Cork’s Conor Lane will be the sideline (fourth) official.

His umpires will be Kevin O’Brien, Sean Langton (both St Josephs), Alan Abbey (Stradbally) and Richard Oxley (Timahoe).

Derry man Barry Cassidy (Wolfe Tones, Bellaghy) has been given the task of refereeing the All-Ireland minor final between Dublin and Meath.

The umpires for the minor game will be Kevin Torner (Bellaghy), Anthony Campbell (O’Donovan Rossa, Magherafelt), Tom O’Kane (St Malachy’s Castledawson) and Alan Nash (Derry Trasna, Derry).

nThe Cork SHC quarter-final tie between Erin’s Own and CIT, originally slated for Saturday afternoon at 2pm in Páirc Uí Chaoimh, will now be played at 6pm in Páirc Uí Rinn on Sunday.

CIT had sought the date change and delegates voted 42-10 in their favour at last night’s County Board meeting.

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up