Forward power decisive for Carrig

Carrignavar 1-15 Erin’s Own 1-10

Losers in a replay with Dungourney last year, it was notable that corner-forward Ronan Spillane and full-forward Paul Murphy were quick to make an impact because between them they were to finish with the creditable total of 1-9 between them.

And, while wing-back Timmy Geaney was given the ‘man-of-the-match’ award, these two players — along with the outstanding Paul O’Keeffe at centre-forward — played significant roles in their victory.

Erin’s Own trailed by four points before team captain Ian Quinlan got their opening score from a ’65 in the 15th minute and while they were to be more competitive after improved play at half-back and the efforts of midfielders Ian O’Mahony and Ronan O’Carroll, poor finishing undermined their challenge on a continuing basis.

In simple terms, Carrignarvar’s striking was much more dependable, with Spillane excelling in general play as well as unerring in his free-taking and it saw them lead 0-8 to 0-3 at the break — with Quinlan denied a goal by a good save by ‘keeper Conor Hegarty.

Erin’s Own promised a recovery with the first of four points between the 36th and 42nd minutes coming from a long-distance free by goalkeeper Kieran Murphy, before a goal from the skilful Spillane four minutes later boosted Carrignavar.

And by the 56th minute they were 1-14 to 0-9 ahead. Again, Erin’s Own showed promise following a quick goal from Ronan Coakley and a Quinlan point, but when it mattered most Carrignavar had the strength — and the belief — to close the game out.

Scorers for Carrignavar: R. Spillane 1-4 (3f); P. Murphy 0-5; P. O’Keeffe 0-3; A. Dorgan 0-2; T. Geaney 0-1.

Scorers for Erins Own: R. Coakley 1-1; I. Quinlan 0-3 (0-1 ’65); D. O’Flynn 0-2; K. Murphy (f), A. Power, M. Buckley and K. Fenton 0-1 each.

CARRIGNAVAR: C. Hegarty; B. Hegarty, D. O’Driscoll, D. Coleman; T. Geaney, C. O’Reilly (c), T. Neally; B. Murphy, R. Mullins; A. Hegarty, P. O’Keeffe, C. Burns; A. Dorgan, P. Murphy, R. Spillane. Subs: J. O’Sullivan for B. Murphy (28); P. Geaney for Neally and N. Mullins for R. Mullins (41); S. Horgan for Burns (54).

ERIN’S OWN: K. Murphy; C. Cronin, P. Fenton, C. O’Connor; K. Fenton, C. Dooley, C. Geary; I. O’Mahony, R. O’Carroll; D. O’Flynn, M. Buckley, A. Power; R. Coakley, C. O’Mahony, I. Quinlan (c).

Subs: N. Scanlon for O’Carroll (35); S. Crowley for Cronin (51).

Referee: Brian Murphy (Carrigtwohill).

*A minute’s silence was observed before the game in memory of the late Sarah Jane O’Connell, daughter of the Erins Own chairman Liam O’Connell.

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.214 s