Dempsey the difference

The Mayo junior footballers are back in the All-Ireland JFC final for the first time since 2001 after a comfortable nine-point victory over the All-Britain champions in Manchester on Saturday.

First-half goals from man of the match Colin Dempsey and Aiden McTigue proved decisive as the Connacht champions took care of business.

Scorers for Mayo: A McTigue 1-2, A Egan 0-3 (1f), C Dempsey 1-0, K Gibbons, S Cloherty, R McNamara (2f) 0-2 each, D McNamara, E McManamon, P McManamon 0-1 each.

Scorers for Lancashire: M Molloy 0-4 (1f), D McConnell, J Corcoran 0-2 each, S Goldrick, L Coyne (1f) G Morris 0-1 each.

MAYO: P Mannion; L O’Malley, N McCormack, B Leonard; O Quinn, O Feeney, D McNamara; R McNamara, P Collins; P McManamon, A Egan, S Cloherty; A McTigue, C Dempsey, E McManamon.

Subs: G McDonagh for Egan; M Moran for Collins; F McGrath for McTigue; K Gibbons for Dempsey.

LANCASHIRE: G Dooley; S Gallagher, J Quinn, A Murray; M Carey, F Doyle, G Morris; J Corcoran, R Gallagher; P McGlade, S Goldrick, P Mulligan; M Molloy, L Coyne, D O’Malley.

Subs: D McConnell for McGlade, R Gilligan for Murray, R Coss for Mulligan, A Brown for Coyne.

Referee: C O’Hagan (Tyrone).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up