Banner have edge in attack

Clare 0-13 Waterford 0-7

Racing into a five-point lead after 20 minutes they looked primed to rack up a huge score. However, Waterford, with former senior boss John Kiely at the helm, showed a stubborn streak and Adam O’Loughlan, Gavin Crotty, David Power and Edmond Hogan scores made it 0-7 to 0-4 at the interval.

But the Déise men never capitalised on their possession and as the Kilmurry-Ibrickane trickle of men on the field became a flood, all chances of an upset we snuffed out. Niall Downes gave an exhibition at full-forward while Paul Reidy and Paudge McMahon played solid support roles as the Banner pulled clear. Clare’s experience also showed in defence where Shane Hickey, a candidate for the senior panel, and one-time New York senior inter-county player Paul O’Connor were to the fore.

Scorers for Clare: N Downes 0-5, P McMahon (1f) 0-4, P Reidy (1f) 0-3, C Malone (f) 0-1 each.

Scorers for Waterford: E Hogan (2fs) 0-3, G Crotty 0-2, A O’Loughlan, D Power 0-1 each.

CLARE: P Deloughrey (Cratloe); E Ralph (Ennistymon), D Kelly (St Seans Kilkee), D Hickey (Kilmurry-Ibrickane);, P O’Connor (Kilmurry-Ibrickane), S Malone (St Joseph’s Miltown); C Ryan (Cratloe), K King (Kilmurry-Ibrickane); P Reidy (Kilmihill), D Molohan (St Josephs Miltown), C Dunning (Wolfe Tones na Sionna); P McMahon (Clondegad), N Downes (Kilmurry-Ibrickane), C Malone (Kilfenora).

Subs: N Hickey (Kilmurry-Ibrickane) for C Malone (ht), I McInerney (Kilmurry-Ibrickane) for Molohan (ht), S Cormican (St Brekans) for Dunning (48), K Cahill (Wolfe Tones) for Reidy (52), E Talty (Kilmurry-Ibrickane) for S Malone (55).

WATERFORD: P Houlihan (St Saviours); J Walsh (Nire), D Predergast (Ardmore), G Dunphy (Newtown); S Lannon (Stradbally), E Rockett (C) (Stradbally), R Hennessy (Ardmore); R Cahill (Rathgormack), A O’Loughlan (St Molleran’s); P Power (Portlaw), Gavin Crotty (Dungarvan), D Power (KIlrossanty); E Hogan (Rathgormack), M Casey (De La Salle), J Coffey (Stradbally).

Subs: M Walsh (Nire) for Lannon (ht), M O’Gorman (Nire) for Casey (39), P Larkin (Rathgormack) for Hennessy (58), S Ryan for P Power (58).

Referee: S Joy (Kerry).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Discover the

Install our free app today

Available on


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.