Derby win puts Glanworth back in business

Glanworth are back in the Cork IFC after coming through this all-north Cork second round clash at Kilworth yesterday.

While Glanworth achieved their objective of getting back into the championship, after withstanding a late rally from Killavullen, they will have to brush up greatly in the shooting zone. They kicked an incredible 16 wides and this could lead to their downfall as the battles get more intense.

In Dave Pyne, they have an extremely hard-working midfielder, and while Killavullen didn’t give him too much leeway he still landed six points (five from frees) and is a reliable target for kick-outs. Killavullen did well enough in this sector, but when Bartley Hayes received a second yellow in the third quarter, they not alone lost their number eight but were down to 14 men for the final 20 minutes.

The opening half was equally contested, level on 0-3 apiece – Pyne (two) and Brian Gallagher efforts were cancelled out by Declan Dorgan (two) and a Billy Norris free. Glanworth then got a grip and went 0-6 to 0-3 in front.

But, Killavullen rallied coming up to the break through Dorgan and another Norris free and were just one point in arrears, 0-6 to 0-5 at the changeover.

After a slow start to the second half, Glanworth put their stamp on proceedings with a Michael Pyne goal following good approach play from Chris Quirke and Pierre O’Driscoll. It was at this juncture that Hayes got sent off but Killavullen did not stand down and when Alan O’Driscoll fired a brilliant goal after being set up by Barry Murphy, they were still in contention 1-8 to 1-5 with 15 minutes remaining.

However, poor shooting at both ends meant scores were scarce. Norris struck a free to cut the margin to two points but that was as good as it got for Killavullen. Dave Pyne raised the final flag for Glanworth capitalising on quality work by wing back Diarmuid Colfer.

Scorers for Glanworth: D Pyne 0-6 (5fs), M Pyne 1-0, M Sheehan, B Gallagher and P O’Driscoll 0-1 each.

Scorers for Killavullen: A O’Driscoll 1-0, D Dorgan (1f), B Norris 0-3fs each.

GLANWORTH: T Fitzgibbon; W Blackburn, T Pierce, J Magnier; D Gallagher, S O’Keeffe, D Colfer; D Pyne, S Finn; P O’Driscoll, G O’Neill, C Quirke; M Pyne, B Gallagher, M Sheehan.

KILLAVULLEN: S O’Regan; E O’Connor, R Dorgan, J Coakley; D Roche, C O’Connell, B Norris; B Hayes, M Dineen; A O’Driscoll, D Dorgan, P Egan; K Finnegan, B Murphy, L Cronin.

Referee: J Ryan (Macroom).

More in this section

Join us for a special evening of Cheltenham chat on Friday March 12 at 6.30pm with racing legend and Irish Examiner columnist Ruby Walsh, Irish Examiner racing correspondent Tommy Lyons, and former champion jockey and tv presenter Mick Fitzgerald, author of Better than Sex.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Home Delivery


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.