Clinical CIT turn on the style

Muskerry became the first side to exit the divisions and colleges section of the Cork County SHC as Cork IT were far too strong for them at Riverstown last night.

The outcome was never in doubt at any stage of this one-sided affair — CIT always the better side as they did as they pleased for the most part, building on a good start to ensure that Muskerry — who advanced to round four proper of last year’s championship — were not in contention.

Three points to the good, two from Stephen Corcoran, CIT solidified their lead after Aidan O’Mahony opened the mid-Cork division’s account, Michael O’Sullivan poking the rebound to the net after John Cronin’s shot had been saved by Paul Ryan.

The general flow of play continued until half-time, Niall O’Doherty, David Drake and Stephen White on target for CIT before Corcoran found the net with a rifled shot from 20 yards, the interval lead 2-8 to 0-2 for last year’s beaten county finalists.

Emphasising their strength in depth, CIT introduced Aidan Walsh and Hugh Curran into their attack for the second half and both impressed, shooting three points each, Walsh’s 41st-minute effort of the highest calibre as he caught a Drake pass over his head near the right sideline before turning and shooting almost in one motion.

With his Kanturk clubmate, CIT captain Lorcán McLoughlin, marshalling the defence, the Muskerry attack were not given too many chances, though former Cork player Mark O’Sullivan did snaffle two points.

At the other end, O’Sullivan, Richie Barry and Colm Casey all waved white flags to complete the rout.

Scorers for Cork IT: S Corcoran 1-4 (0-2f), M O’Sullivan 1-1, A Walsh, H Curran 0-3 each, D Drake 0-2, S White (0-1 65), L McLoughlin, N O’Doherty, C Casey, R Barry 0-1 each.

Scorers for Muskerry: M O’Sullivan 0-2, C O’Sullivan, A O’Mahony, S Sexton 0-1 each.

CORK IT (Cork clubs unless stated): K Roche (Banteer); B O’Sullivan (Fermoy), M Ellis (Millstreet), B Withers (Banteer); S White (Ballygarvan), L McLoughlin (Kanturk), S O’Halloran (Clarecastle, Clare); N O’Doherty (Grenagh), N Kelly (Mayfield); J Cronin (Lisgoold), D Drake (Carrigaline), JM O’Callaghan (Argideen Rangers); S Corcoran (Carrigaline), M O’Sullivan (Tracton), C Casey (Inniscarra).

Subs: A Walsh (Kanturk) for O’Doherty, H Curran (Newcestown) for Cronin (both half-time), R Barry (Lismore, Waterford) for O’Callaghan (41), J Corkery (Aghabullogue) for Ellis (53).

MUSKERRY: P Ryan (Éire Óg); L Jennings (Ballincollig), N Galvin (Ballincollig), J Barrett (Blarney); N Buckley (Aghabullogue), S O’Donoghue (Ballincollig), J Carey (Dripsey); T Kenny (Grenagh), A O’Mahony (Inniscarra); A Donovan (Ballincollig), C O’Sullivan (Ballincollig), M O’Sullivan (Dripsey); M Cremin (Blarney), T O’Leary (Éire Óg), D Corkery (Cloughduv).

Subs: C Cotter (Kilmichael) for Cremin (35), S Sexton (Donoughmore) for O’Sullivan, B Aherne (Cloughduv) for O’Leary (both 39), K Cummins (Grenagh) for Carey (42), C Ryan (Cloughduv) for P Ryan (47).

Referee: C McAllister (Aghada).

More in this section

CourtsGaaPlace: RiverstownPerson: MuskerryPerson: Stephen CorcoranPerson: Aidan O’MahonyPerson: Michael O’SullivanPerson: John CroninPerson: Paul RyanPerson: Niall O’DohertyPerson: David DrakePerson: Stephen WhitePerson: CorcoranPerson: Aidan WalshPerson: Hugh CurranPerson: WalshPerson: DrakePerson: Lorcan McLoughlinPerson: Mark O’SullivanPerson: O’SullivanPerson: Richie BarryPerson: Colm CaseyPerson: M O’SullivanPerson: APerson: H CurranPerson: WhitePerson: L McLoughlinPerson: N O’DohertyPerson: C CaseyPerson: R BarryPerson: CPerson: K RochePerson: B O’SullivanPerson: M EllisPerson: B WithersPerson: S WhitePerson: KanturkPerson: S O’HalloranPerson: N KellyPerson: J CroninPerson: D DrakePerson: JM O’CallaghanPerson: S CorcoranPerson: O’DohertyPerson: CroninPerson: O’CallaghanPerson: J CorkeryPerson: AghabulloguePerson: EllisPerson: P RyanPerson: Éire ÓgPerson: L JenningsPerson: BallincolligPerson: N GalvinPerson: J BarrettPerson: BlarneyPerson: N BuckleyPerson: S O’DonoghuePerson: J CareyPerson: DripseyPerson: T KennyPerson: GrenaghPerson: A O’MahonyPerson: InniscarraPerson: A DonovanPerson: C O’SullivanPerson: M CreminPerson: T O’LearyPerson: D CorkeryPerson: CloughduvPerson: C CotterPerson: KilmichaelPerson: CreminPerson: S SextonPerson: DonoughmorePerson: B AhernePerson: O’LearyPerson: K CumminsPerson: CareyPerson: C RyanPerson: C McAllisterOrganisation: CITOrganisation: Cork County SHCOrganisation: Cork ITOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: BanteerOrganisation: FermoyOrganisation: MillstreetOrganisation: GrenaghOrganisation: MayfieldOrganisation: LisgooldOrganisation: CarrigalineOrganisation: Argideen RangersOrganisation: TractonOrganisation: InniscarraOrganisation: KanturkOrganisation: NewcestownOrganisation: Waterford
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.