Rossies storm to Connacht final

A commanding second-half performance from Roscommon put pre-match favourites Mayo to the sword under lights at Kiltoom on Wednesday night.

Mayo, who came into the game buoyed by their impressive extra-time win over All-Ireland champions Galway, were 0-8 to 0-7 ahead at the interval, mainly due to Conor O’Shea’s prosperity in the full-forward line.

But the home time totally dominated the second half, helped by a few shrewd substitutions from manager Nigel Dineen.

However, they had to wait until Donal Smith’s excellent 64th-minute goal to make their superiority count on the scoreboard.

Roscommon now meet Sligo or Leitrim in the final.

ROSCOMMON: N Connaughton; R Stack, C Duignan, D Murray; C Daly, P Brogan, C Cafferky; F Kelly, N Daly (0-1); F Cregg (0-1), N Kilroy (0-1), D Clabby; C Connolly (0-1), C Compton (0-1), D Smith (1-4, 3f).

Subs: S Oates (0-1) for Clabby (h-t), J McManus for Connolly (41), C Shine for Kelly (41), C Murtagh (0-1) for Cregg (50).

MAYO: P Mannion; M Walsh, N Freeman, D Gavin; C Crowe, S McDermott, M Forde; A Walsh (0-1, ’45), D Geraghty; A Farrell, C O’Connor (0-3, 3f), B Harrison; E Regan (0-2, 1f), D Coen, C O’Shea (0-3).

Subs: J Shaughnessy (0-1, 1f) for Harrison (35), D Kirby for Farrell (43), C Walsh for Coen (50), A O’Toole for Regan (57).

Referee: R McBrien (Leitrim).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Discover the

Install our free app today

Available on


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.