Courceys keep good start going with win over Cloyne

Courcey Rovers maintained their good start in the Cork senior hurling league as they lead the RedFM SHL after two games.

After beating Blackrock in their opening match, the Ballinspittle/Ballinadee side followed with an impressive 2-12 to 0-6 win over Cloyne.

First-half goals from Sean and Daire Lordan had them 2-5 to 0-4 in front at half-time. Daire, who finished with 1-5, continued to convert frees while Gary Minihane weighed in with two points.

Midleton are level on four points with Courceys but have played three matches. Having drawn their first two games, they got their first win, easily beating Carrigtwohill 3-12 to 0-13. While a Patrick White goal was the difference between the sides at half-time, as the Magpies led 1-6 to 0-8, they pulled clear in the second-half despite Niall McCarthy lining out for Carrig.

Sarsfields had their second draw of the season, sharing the points with Na Piarsaigh 1-12 to 0-15. Tadhg Óg Murphy scored 1-2 for Sars while Kieran Murphy weighed in with five, but Pádraig Gould and Anthony Dennehy played their part for Piarsaigh.

There was also a draw at the Glen Field between Glen Rovers and Bride Rovers, 1-15 to 0-18. Barry Hackett scored 1-3 of the Glen’s total with Brian Moylan scoring four frees. Barry Johnson scored eight points with Jerome O’Driscoll and Michael Collins getting three each for Bride.

Daniel Walsh, Eoin Loughlin and David Cahill got the goals as Killeagh overcame St Finbarr’s 3-11 to 0-15. Ben O’Connor, who announced his intercounty retirement the day before, scored six points as Newtownshandrum beat Douglas 0-16 to 0-8 on Friday.

In the IHL Division, Ballincollig and Newcestown share top spot following wins over Watergrasshill and Inniscarra respectively. St Catherine’s, Ballyhea and Castlelyons all have four points from two games in Division 2 while Mallow top Division 3.

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up