Kerry include O’Mahony as Cork name unchanged line-up

Aidan O’Mahony has been drafted into the Kerry team at full-back for Sunday’s Allianz Football League Division 1 tie trip to Páirc Uí Chaoimh to face Cork after Daniel Bohan underwent knee surgery this week which is set to see him sidelined for the next month.

O’Mahony’s inclusion is the only change from the side that defeated Donegal comprehensively last Sunday. Tomás Ó Sé returns to the squad and is included among the substitutes.

Opposition boss Conor Counihan has stuck with the team that defeated Laois in Portlaoise last Saturday with Aidan Walsh set to continue in his new role at full-forward.

John Galvin returns to the Limerick starting side for the first time since last April’s Division 3 tie against Wexford after recovering from cruciate ligament damage to be named at midfield for Sunday’s trip to Aughrim to face Wicklow in Division 4. Galvin made his comeback as a substitute against Kilkenny last Saturday.

Stephen Lucey comes in at centre-back, Paul Kinnerk is named at midfield while Seamus O’Carroll, Eoghan O’Connor and James O’Meara are given starting berths in attack.

Sean Cavanagh will return to Tyrone’s starting 15 for the first time this season when the Red Hands put their 100 % league record in Division 2 on the line against Galway in Tuam next Sunday. Cavanagh, who has recovered from a career-threatening shoulder injury, has made substitute appearances in all four of his side’s games to date, will play at midfield.

He replaces Joe McMahon, who has been ruled out after suffering tendonitis of the knee. Tyrone will have a new midfield partnership, with Mickey Murphy replacing Niall McKenna.

Goalkeeper rotation continues, with Johnny Curran taking over from Pascal McConnell. Up front, Mattie Donnelly returns from injury to replace Paddy McNeice, but skipper Stephen O’Neill has not recovered from a hamstring injury sustained last month.

Finally, Kildare footballer Ken Donnelly has announced his retirement from intercounty football Donnelly sustained a cruciate ligament injury in 2010 which forced him to miss the entire 2011 season. He battled back to play a part in this year’s O’Byrne Cup and the second round of the league against Monaghan, but has now decided to retire.

CORK (SF v Kerry): A Quirke; R Carey, E O’Mahony, E Cotter; N O’Leary, G Canty, P Kissane; A O’Connor, P O’Neill; F Goold, P Kerrigan, P Kelly; C O’Neill, A Walsh, D O’Connor.

KERRY (SF v Cork): B Kealy; M Ó Sé, A O’Mahony, K Young; P Crowley, E Brosnan, B McGuire; A Maher, B Sheehan; P Galvin, Darran O’Sullivan, Declan O’Sullivan; BJ Keane, K Donaghy, P Curtin. Subs: T Mac an tSaoir, T Ó Sé, S Enright, S Scanlon, J Lyne, D O’Callaghan, M Geaney, J Buckley, D Casey, K O’Leary.

LIMERICK (SF v Wicklow): B Scanlon; E Barry, S Lavin, L O’Dwyer; J Riordan, S Lucey, B Fitzpatrick; P Kinnerk, J Galvin; S O’Carroll, E O’Connor, P Ranahan; G Collins, J O’Meara, I Ryan.

TYRONE (SF v Galway): J Curran; A McCrory, Justin McMahon, PJ Quinn; C McCarron, P Harte, D McCaul; M Murphy, S Cavanagh; R McNabb, Mark Donnelly, Matthew Donnelly; K Coney, M Penrose, O Mulligan. Subs: P McConnell, D

Carlin, A Cassidy, C Cavanagh, C Gervin, C Gormley, P Hughes, J Lafferty, N McKenna, R McMenamin, S McNally.

TIPPERARY (SF v Sligo): M O’Donnell; A Morrissey, L Egan, C McDonald; R Kiely, T Ryan, D Lynch; E Ryan, D Heffernan; D Leahy, P Acheson, H Coghlan; B O’Brien, P Austin, S Ryan.

CAVAN (SF v Offaly): K Fannin; D Barkey, D Reilly, R Flanagan; B Watters, P O’Reilly, R Maloney; D Givney, G McKiernan; N Smith, M McKeever, K Meehan; B Fitzpatrick, N McDermott, M Dunne.

More in this section

CourtsGaaPlace: Páirc Uí ChaoimhPlace: PortlaoisePlace: AughrimPerson: O’MahonyPerson: Aidan O’MahonyPerson: Daniel BohanPerson: Tomás Ó SéPerson: Conor CounihanPerson: Aidan WalshPerson: John GalvinPerson: GalvinPerson: Stephen LuceyPerson: Paul KinnerkPerson: Seamus O’CarrollPerson: Eoghan O’ConnorPerson: James O’MearaPerson: Sean CavanaghPerson: CavanaghPerson: Joe McMahonPerson: Mickey MurphyPerson: Niall McKennaPerson: Johnny CurranPerson: Pascal McConnellPerson: Mattie DonnellyPerson: Paddy McNeicePerson: Stephen O’NeillPerson: Ken DonnellyPerson: DonnellyPerson: R CareyPerson: E O’MahonyPerson: E CotterPerson: N O’LearyPerson: G CantyPerson: P KissanePerson: A O’ConnorPerson: P O’NeillPerson: F GooldPerson: P KellyPerson: C O’NeillPerson: A WalshPerson: D O’ConnorPerson: KerryPerson: KealyPerson: M Ó SéPerson: A O’MahonyPerson: K YoungPerson: P CrowleyPerson: E BrosnanPerson: B McGuirePerson: A MaherPerson: B SheehanPerson: P GalvinPerson: Darran O’SullivanPerson: Declan O’SullivanPerson: BJ KeanePerson: K DonaghyPerson: P CurtinPerson: T Mac an tSaoirPerson: T Ó SéPerson: S EnrightPerson: S ScanlonPerson: J LynePerson: D O’CallaghanPerson: M GeaneyPerson: J BuckleyPerson: D CaseyPerson: K O’LearyPerson: LimerickPerson: B ScanlonPerson: E BarryPerson: S LavinPerson: L O’DwyerPerson: J RiordanPerson: S LuceyPerson: B FitzpatrickPerson: P KinnerkPerson: J GalvinPerson: S O’CarrollPerson: E O’ConnorPerson: P RanahanPerson: G CollinsPerson: J O’MearaPerson: I RyanPerson: TyronePerson: J CurranPerson: A McCroryPerson: Justin McMahonPerson: PJ QuinnPerson: C McCarronPerson: P HartePerson: D McCaulPerson: M MurphyPerson: S CavanaghPerson: R McNabbPerson: Mark DonnellyPerson: Matthew DonnellyPerson: K ConeyPerson: M PenrosePerson: O MulliganPerson: P McConnellPerson: D CarlinPerson: A CassidyPerson: C CavanaghPerson: C GervinPerson: C GormleyPerson: P HughesPerson: J LaffertyPerson: N McKennaPerson: R McMenaminPerson: S McNallyPerson: M O’DonnellPerson: A MorrisseyPerson: L EganPerson: C McDonaldPerson: R KielyPerson: T RyanPerson: D LynchPerson: E RyanPerson: D HeffernanPerson: D LeahyPerson: P AchesonPerson: H CoghlanPerson: B O’BrienPerson: P AustinPerson: S RyanPerson: CavanPerson: K FanninPerson: D BarkeyPerson: D ReillyPerson: R FlanaganPerson: B WattersPerson: P O’ReillyPerson: R MaloneyPerson: D GivneyPerson: G McKiernanPerson: N SmithPerson: M McKeeverPerson: K MeehanPerson: N McDermottPerson: M DunneEvent: O’Byrne CupOrganisation: KerryOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: DonegalOrganisation: LaoisOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: WexfordOrganisation: KilkennyOrganisation: TyroneOrganisation: Red HandsOrganisation: GalwayOrganisation: KildareOrganisation: MonaghanOrganisation: SFOrganisation: WicklowOrganisation: SligoOrganisation: Offaly
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.229 s