Cork quartet make team of the century

Four Corkmen have been selected on the Fitzgibbon Cup team of the century.

Cork quartet make team of the century

John Grainger, Paul O’Connor, Jim Hurley and John O’Halloran — all UCC graduates — were honoured on the team chosen to celebrate 100 years of the university competition.

Cork are the most represented county on the team with the quartet. Clare and Galway are next with three representatives followed by Kilkenny and Tipperary each with two. UCC are also the most honoured university with six graduates named among the 15, the other two being Clare’s Pat Henchy and Tipperary’s Nicky English.

Current UCC development officer Grainger is the most recent of Cork’s award winners having been instrumental in five of the college’s eight-in-a-row of Fitzgibbon titles in the ’80s.

His former team-mate O’Connor is chosen at midfield where he played in five Fitzgibbon Cup winning teams.

Alongside him in midfield is Clonakilty man Jim Hurley, who attended the college between 1925 and ’31 after participating in the War of Independence, and picked up three Fitzgibbon Cup medals. Like Grainger and O’Connor, O’Halloran won the competition five times before going onto help UCC win their first county title in 1963 and being a member of the Cork team that beat Kilkenny in the 1966 All-Ireland SHC final.

Fitzgibbon Cup Team of the Century: Tommy Daly (UCD and Clare/Dublin, 1915-27); Seamus Hickey (UL and Limerick, 2007-11), Niall McInerney (UCG and Clare/Galway 1970-77), John Grainger (UCC and Cork, 1983-87); Seán Silke (NUI Maynooth and Galway, 1973-76), Ted Carroll (UCD and Kilkenny, 1958-62), E Corcoran (WIT and Tipperary, 1998-2000); Paul O’Connor (UCC and Cork, 1982-86), Jim Hurley (UCC and Cork, 1925-31); Henry Downey (QUB and Derry, 1986-89), John O’Halloran (UCC and Cork, 1961-69), Pat Henchy (UCC/UCD and Clare, 1957-64); Nicky English (UCC and Tipperary, 1981-85), Joe Canning (LIT and Galway, 2007-present); Henry Shefflin (WIT and Kilkenny, 1998-2002).

County breakdown: Cork 4, Clare 3, Galway 3, Kilkenny 2, Tipperary 2, Derry 1, Dublin 1, Limerick 1.

College breakdown: UCC 6, UCD 3, WIT 2, LIT 1, NUI Maynooth 1, QUB 1, UCG 1, UL 1.

More in this section

Join us for a special evening of Cheltenham chat on Friday March 12 at 6.30pm with racing legend and Irish Examiner columnist Ruby Walsh, Irish Examiner racing correspondent Tommy Lyons, and former champion jockey and tv presenter Mick Fitzgerald, author of Better than Sex.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Home Delivery


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.