Kerwick out as Ryan trims Premier panel

Tipperary senior hurling manager Declan Ryan has cut seven players from an extended squad ahead of next Saturday’s Waterford Crystal Cup quarter-final against UL — including 2010 All-Ireland winner Pat Kerwick.

2010 All-Ireland U21 medallists Paddy Murphy, James Barry and Kieran Morris have also been deemed surplus to requirements as Ryan looks ahead to the league campaign.

Killenaule clubman Kerwick played in the 2009 All-Ireland final against Kilkenny and won a 2010 winner’s medal as a non-playing sub but his last two seasons have been blighted by persistent injury problems.

He is joined by fellow 2011 senior squad members Stephen Lillis and Murphy, who won an All-Ireland minor medal in 2007 before claiming Munster and All-Ireland U21 medals in 2010.

Shane Maher of Burgess returns after withdrawing last year due to work commitments while there are recalls for Éire Óg Annacarty club man Conor O’Brien and Timmy Hammersley, a Clonoulty-Rossmore clubmate of manager Ryan.

O’Brien and Hammersley were both released following last February’s league final defeat against Dublin at Croke Park but have worked hard to force their way back into contention.

Maher’s brother Donagh has also been included, along with Johnny Ryan from county champions Drom & Inch, Sean Curran (Mullinahone) and Adrian Ryan of Templederry Kenyons. Elsewhere, Benny Dunne has retired and Michael Gleeson, son of team selector Michael, has withdrawn for personal reasons. Seamus Hennessy, a 2010 All-Ireland U21 and senior medallist, is recovering from a long-term knee injury that ruled him out of the entire 2011 campaign.

Another former minor and All-Ireland U21 medallist, James Barry of Upperchurch-Drombane, has also been dropped from the extended panel.

David Collins (Drom & Inch), Gerry Walsh (Carrick Swan) and 2010 All-Ireland U21 medallist Kieran Morris (Moycarkey-Borris) have also been culled.

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up