Fitzgibbon team of the century shortlist

FORMER GAA President Joe McDonagh will chair a committee of former Fitzgibbon Cup players and managers that will select a ‘Team Of The Century’ from a shortlist of 75 third-level hurling stars, as part of the competition’s centenary celebrations this year.

Henry Shefflin, Nicky English, Brian Lohan, Joe Deane, Conor Hayes, JJ Delaney and Eoin Kelly are amongst those vying for inclusion.

SHORTLIST: Goalkeepers: T Daly (UCD, Clare/Dublin), G Cotter (UCC, Cork), D Young (WIT, Tipperary), R Brennan (UCD, Wexford), J O’Donoghue (UCC, Tipperary).

Backs: S Silke (Maynooth, Galway), S Stack (Maynooth, Clare), R Curran (CIT, Cork), L Shalloe (UCC, Waterford), J Grainger (UCC, Cork), J O’Connor (UCC, Wexford), D Barry-Murphy (UCC, Cork), M Cahill (UCC, Tipperary), T Carroll (UCD, Kilkenny), D O’Neill (UCD, Kilkenny), J Ryan (UCD, Limerick/Dublin), N McInerney (UCG, Clare/Galway), C Hayes (UCG, Galway), J Lee (NUIG, Galway), S Lucey (UCD, Limerick), J Walsh (DIT, Laois), C Duggan (TCD, Laois), J Tyrrell (CIT/LIT, Kilkenny), C O’Mahony (LIT, Tipperary), E Corcoran (WIT, Tipperary), JJ Delaney (WIT, Kilkenny), M Walsh (WIT, Waterford), S McMahon (UL, Clare), S Hickey (UL, Limerick), J Devane (UL, Tipperary), D Cormican (QUB, Antrim), B Lohan (UL, Clare), P Curran (WIT, Tipperary), J Tennyson (UCC, Kilkenny), K Coogan (WIT, Kilkenny).

Midfielders: J Salmon (UCG, Galway), I Clarke (Maynooth, Galway), J Young (UCC, Cork), C Lucey (UCC, Cork), P O’Connor (UCC, Cork), E Enright (UCC, Tipperary), J Cooney (UCD, Tipperary), D Dillon (UCD, Clare/Dublin), J Hurley (UCC, Cork), D Stokes (UCD, Limerick).

Forwards: J Connolly (UCG, Galway), J O’Connor (UCG, Clare), E Kelly (LIT, Tipperary), J Canning (LIT, Galway), A Maloney (WIT, Waterford/Tipperary), H Shefflin (WIT, Kilkenny), P Kavanagh (UCD, Kilkenny), PJ Delaney (WIT, Kilkenny), A O’Shaughnessy (GMIT, Galway), C O’Neill (UCC/QUB, Derry), P O’Donovan (UCC, Cork), N English (UCC, Tipperary), J Enright (UCC, Tipperary), J Deane (UCC, Cork), J O’Halloran (UCC, Cork), E Bulfin (UCD, Offaly), J Byrne (UCD, Wexford), D Nealon (UCD, Tipperary), P Henchy (UCC, Clare), J Ryan (UCD, Tipperary), B Loughnane (UCD, Clare/Dublin), T Loughnane (UCD, Clare), M Ruth (UCD, Kilkenny), K Broderick (AIT, Galway), J Sheehan (DCU, Cork), D Troy (UCC, Cork), N McManus (UUJ, Antrim), W Hyland (LIT, Laois), J Fitzpatrick (UCC/St Pat’s, Kilkenny).

More in this section

courtsgaaperson: presidentperson: joe mcdonaghperson: henry shefflinperson: nicky englishperson: brian lohanperson: joe deaneperson: conor hayesperson: jj delaneyperson: eoin kellyperson: t dalyperson: g cotterperson: d youngperson: r brennanperson: j o’donoghueperson: s silkeperson: s stackperson: r curranperson: l shalloeperson: j graingerperson: j o’connorperson: d barry-murphyperson: m cahillperson: t carrollperson: d o’neillperson: j ryanperson: mcinerneyperson: c hayesperson: j leeperson: s luceyperson: j walshperson: c dugganperson: j tyrrellperson: c o’mahonyperson: e corcoranperson: m walshperson: s mcmahonperson: s hickeyperson: j devaneperson: d cormicanperson: b lohanperson: p curranperson: j tennysonperson: k cooganperson: j salmonperson: i clarkeperson: j youngperson: c luceyperson: p o’connorperson: e enrightperson: j cooneyperson: d dillonperson: j hurleyperson: d stokesperson: j connollyperson: e kellyperson: j canningperson: a maloneyperson: h shefflinperson: p kavanaghperson: pj delaneyperson: a o’shaughnessyperson: c o’neillperson: p o’donovanperson: j enrightperson: j deaneperson: j o’halloranperson: e bulfinperson: j byrneperson: d nealonperson: p henchyperson: ryanperson: b loughnaneperson: t loughnaneperson: m ruthperson: k broderickperson: j sheehanperson: d troyperson: n mcmanusperson: w hylandperson: j fitzpatrickorganisation: fitzgibbonorganisation: ucdorganisation: clareorganisation: dublinorganisation: uccorganisation: corkorganisation: witorganisation: tipperaryorganisation: wexfordorganisation: maynoothorganisation: galwayorganisation: citorganisation: waterfordorganisation: kilkennyorganisation: limerickorganisation: norganisation: ucgorganisation: nuigorganisation: ditorganisation: laoisorganisation: tcdorganisation: cit/litorganisation: litorganisation: ulorganisation: quborganisation: antrimorganisation: gmitorganisation: ucc/quborganisation: derryorganisation: offalyorganisation: clare/organisation: aitorganisation: dcuorganisation: uujorganisation: ucc/st pat’s

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.