Kilmurry save their best for extra-time

Kilmurry 3-13 Scoil Eoin, Innishannon 4-3 (aet)

KILMURRY produced an excellent performance in extra-time to take the DF1 Allianz Sciath na Scol title at Páirc Uí Rinn yesterday.

While the 40 minutes of normal time were very close all the way through, Kilmurry were far too strong in the extra 20, outscoring their opponents by 1-7 to 1-0.

The sides were level at 1-3 apiece at half time, James O’Mullane’s fifth-minute goal for Kilmurry answered by one from Jack Crowley in the 11th, and while Leo Healy and Liam O’Sullivan pointed for Kilmurry at the start of the second half, Kieran Rice’s punched effort put Scoil Eoin back in front, goalkeeper Eanan Cronin suffering an injury in trying to save.

Greg Fitton equalised and Charlie Lyons put Innishannon back in front with a super goal before Tomás Collins punched to the net to force extra-time.

Three points from Kilmurry at the start of the additional period, followed by an O’Mullane goal, gave them a cushion. While Cathal Manning’s well-taken goal gave Innishannon hope, Kilmurry were too strong.

Scorers for Kilmurry: J O’Mullane 2-3 (0-1f), G Fitton 0-6 (2f), T Collins 1-0, L O’Sullivan 0-2, L Healy, M Dromey 0-1 each.

Scorers for Scoil Eoin, Innishannon: C Lyons, C Manning 1-1, K Rice, J Crowley 1-0 each; S Barry 0-1.

KILMURRY: E Cronin; G Sheehan, L O’Brien; J Casey, D Dullea, L Asling; L Healy, L O’Sullivan; G Fitton, J O’Mullane, B O’Donoghue; T Collins, S O’Donoghue.

Sub used: C Lynch.

SCOIL EOIN, INNISHANNON: N Lawton; D Kenneally, M O’Leary; M Connolly, D McCarthy, M Crowley; A Healy, J Crowley; C Hurley, C Lyons, C Manning; S Barry, K Rice.

Referee: J Stokes.

Gaelscoil Ghoirt Álainn 4-4 Scoil Eoin, Innishannon 0-6

FOUR superb goals from attacker Síofra Ní Fhionnagáin Dheagláin was the catalyst for Gaelscoil Ghoirt Álainn to take the DGF2 section.

While the Mayfield school began well, it was not until Ní Fhionnagáin Dheagláin got on the end of a long ball over the top in the 10th minute before finishing well that they took the lead. She followed that up with a point, while Edel Ní Lonargáin also pointed.

Lauren O’Brien and Caroline Hallahan both pointed for Innishannon to get them back in contention but Ní Fhionnagáin Dheagláin’s second goal just before half time left it 2-2 to 0-2.

Scoil Eoin applied pressure in the second half and outscored their city opponents 0-3 to 0-1, but when Ní Fhionnagáin Dheagláin bustled through to complete her hat-trick it put the Gaelscoil 3-3 to 0-5 ahead.

O’Brien did score another point for Innishannon but Ní Fhionnagáin Dheagláin got her fourth before Meadhbh Ní Cheallacháin wrapped up the win.

Scorers for Gaelscoil Ghoirt Álainn: S Ní Fhionnagáin Dheagláin 4-1, E Ní Lonargáin, M Nic Uibh Aillile, M Ní Cheallacháin 0-1 each.

Scorers for Scoil Eoin, Innishannon: L O’Brien, C Hallahan 0-2 each, I Lordan, J O’Donovan 0-1 each.

GAELSCOIL GHOIRT ÁLAINN: S Ní Dhrisceoil; H Ní Chonaill, A Ní Raghallaigh; R Barron Elliot, G Breathnach, E Ní Argáin; M Ní Cheallacháin, E Ní Lonargáin; M Ní Cheallacháin, S Ní Fhionnagáin, M Ní Earaile; M Nic Uibh Aillile, N Ní Mhurchú.

SCOIL EOIN, INNISHANNON: N Settini; E O’Brien, S McCarthy; G Dart O’Flynn, A Reilly, O Murphy; I Lordan, S Dart O’Flynn; C Hallahan, C Nash, D Murphy; L O’Brien, J O’Donovan.

Subs used: A Murphy, E Murphy.

Referee: J Stokes.

Whitechurch 5-8 St Mary’s, Carrigtwohill 4-3

THE F4 title went to Whitechurch after they produced an excellent display to see off St Mary’s.

Whitechurch dominated proceedings from the off, a good Kevin Hyde goal and points from Aidan Kelleher and Denis Singleton putting them into an early lead. But for some good saves by Shane O’Hanlon in the Carrig goal they would have been further ahead, Singleton unlucky a number of times. A second goal just before half time by Sean O’Reilly gave them a 2-4 to 0-1 at the break, Alan Warren having opened Carrig’s account.

Carrig registered the first score of the second half through a Dale Holland free, but Whitechurch responded with a goal from David Donovan and a point by Fionn Brickley.

Carrigtwohill did get a goal through Emmet O’Neill but Donovan’s second, a low long-range rasper, looked to have decided the outcome before Aaron Walsh-Barry, Darragh McCann and Liam Gosnell got late goals for Carrig.

Donovan was on hand to complete his hat-trick in injury time, however.

Scorers for Whitechurch: D Donovan 3-0, S O’Reilly 1-1, J O’Riordan 0-4 (1f), K Hyde 1-0, A Kelleher, F Brickley, D Singleton 0-1 each.

Scorers for St Mary’s, Carrigtwohill: D McCann 1-1 (1f), E O’Neill, A Walsh-Barry, L Gosnell 1-0 each, D Holland (1f), A Warren 0-1 each.

WHITECHURCH: J McNamara; J Doody, C Dennehy, S Humphries; P O’Sullivan, C Dennehy, E Walsh; A Kelleher, D Donovan; F Brickley, K Hyde, J O’Riordan; S O’Reilly, D Singleton, J O’Connell.

Subs used: T O’Connor, A Murphy, J Ring.

ST MARY’S, CARRIGTWOHILL: S O’Hanlon; K Nolan, A Walsh-Barry, E Adedokun; O Oke, A Porter, K Coady; L Gosnell, G O’Brien; O Balcik, D Holland, A Warren; B O’Leary, D McCann, E O’Neill.

Sub used: J Roche, T Jenkinson-Butler.

More in this section

CourtsGaaPlace: Páirc Uí RinnPerson: Scoil EoinPerson: InnishannonPerson: KilmurryPerson: James O’MullanePerson: Jack CrowleyPerson: Leo HealyPerson: Liam O’SullivanPerson: Kieran RicePerson: Eanan CroninPerson: Greg FittonPerson: Charlie LyonsPerson: Tomás CollinsPerson: O’MullanePerson: Cathal ManningPerson: J O’MullanePerson: G FittonPerson: T CollinsPerson: L O’SullivanPerson: L HealyPerson: M DromeyPerson: C LyonsPerson: C ManningPerson: K RicePerson: J CrowleyPerson: S BarryPerson: E CroninPerson: G SheehanPerson: L O’BrienPerson: J CaseyPerson: D DulleaPerson: L AslingPerson: B O’DonoghuePerson: S O’DonoghuePerson: C LynchPerson: N LawtonPerson: D KenneallyPerson: M O’LearyPerson: M ConnollyPerson: D McCarthyPerson: M CrowleyPerson: A HealyPerson: C HurleyPerson: J StokesPerson: Síofra Ní FhionnagáinPerson: DheagláinPerson: Ní FhionnagáinPerson: Edel Ní LonargáinPerson: Lauren O’BrienPerson: Caroline HallahanPerson: O’BrienPerson: Meadhbh Ní CheallacháinPerson: S Ní FhionnagáinPerson: E Ní LonargáinPerson: M Nic Uibh AillilePerson: M Ní CheallacháinPerson: C HallahanPerson: I LordanPerson: J O’DonovanPerson: S Ní DhrisceoilPerson: H Ní ChonaillPerson: A Ní RaghallaighPerson: R Barron ElliotPerson: G BreathnachPerson: E Ní ArgáinPerson: M Ní EarailePerson: N Ní MhurchúPerson: EoinPerson: N SettiniPerson: E O’BrienPerson: S McCarthyPerson: G Dart O’FlynnPerson: A ReillyPerson: O MurphyPerson: S Dart O’FlynnPerson: C NashPerson: D MurphyPerson: MurphyPerson: E MurphyPerson: CarrigtwohillPerson: Kevin HydePerson: Aidan KelleherPerson: Denis SingletonPerson: Shane O’HanlonPerson: CarrigPerson: SingletonPerson: Seán O’ReillyPerson: Alan WarrenPerson: Dale HollandPerson: David DonovanPerson: Fionn BrickleyPerson: Emmet O’NeillPerson: DonovanPerson: Aaron Walsh-BarryPerson: Darragh McCannPerson: Liam GosnellPerson: D DonovanPerson: S O’ReillyPerson: J O’RiordanPerson: K HydePerson: A KelleherPerson: F BricklEvent: DF1 Allianz Sciath na ScolOrganisation: KilmurryOrganisation: Gaelscoil Ghoirt ÁlainnOrganisation: DGF2Organisation: InnishannonOrganisation: Scoil EoinOrganisation: GaelscoilOrganisation: WhitechurchOrganisation: St Mary’sOrganisation: F4Organisation: St Mary
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.