Clinical Coolderry punish Ballyboden

COOLDERRY had an impressive six points win over Ballyboden St Enda’s in this entertaining Leinster Club SHC semi-final at Parnell Park yesterday.

The Dublin champions started brightly and took a two points lead through scores from Niall McMorrow and David O’Connor, but the lively Eoin Ryan responded with Coolderry’s first score in the 4th minute.

Simon Lambert restored Boden’s two point advantage four minutes later but they were gradually reeled in, with the game tied by the 10th minute thanks to a brace of Damien Murray frees.

Coolderry pushed clear, with Malachy Travers prominent at centrefield, and two Paul Ryan frees in addition to an excellent Conor McCormack point firing them clear at the end of the first quarter.

Far from crumbling in the face of those quick scores, Coolderry reeled off six successive points in the ensuing eight minutes, with Murray landing three frees along with points from Ryan and the increasingly influential Cathal Parlon.

Boden’s mini-drought was ended when Lambert and Ryan added points in quick succession but the Offaly men finished the half in the ascendancy and a superbly taken goal by Barry Teehan from Murray’s pass helped Coolderry to a 1-11 to 0-8 interval lead.

Boden narrowed the gap to four points thanks to early points from David Curtin and O’Connor upon the restart but the goal they sought never materialised.

At the opposite end, Coolderry were proving far more economical given their limited possession as Murray punished increasingly ill-disciplined tackling from Boden from placed balls while Parlon added a further three points to confirm a telling showing from the impressive full-forward. Ballyboden’s attempt to salvage their campaign became progressively desperate, as reflected by ten second-half wides, and Parlon’s 58th minute point ensuring his side their first provincial final appearance since 1980.

Coolderry boss, Tipperary legend Ken Hogan, is now turning his attention to a final clash with Oulart-the-Ballagh. “It will still be a huge task in the final,” he said. “Oulart are an awesome team with ten senior Wexford players on their panel. All we can do is give it our best shot.”

Scorers for Coolderry: D Murray 0-8 (frees), C Parlon 0-6, E Ryan 0-4, B Teehan 1-0.

Scorers for Ballyboden St Enda’s: P Ryan 0-6 (3f, 1 ‘65’), N McMorrow, D O’Connor, S Lambert 0-2, C McCormack, D Curtin, S O’Connor 0-1 each.

COOLDERRY: S Corcoran; B Kelly, T Corcoran, A Corcoran; K Brady, J Brady, B O’Meara; K Teehan, D King; B Carroll, B Teehan, M Corcoran; E Ryan, C Parlon, D Murray.

Sub: K Connolly for King (53).

BALLYBODEN ST ENDA’S: G Maguire; D Sweeney, D Spain, P Buckeridge; D Curran, S Nolan, S Durkin; M Travers, D Curtin; S Lambert, T Sweeney, D O’Connor; P Ryan, C McCormack, N McMorrow.

Subs: S O’Connor for Spain (half-time), J Doody for T Sweeney (53), E Carroll for McCormack (60).

Referee: Anthony Stapleton (Laois).

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.205 s