Ryan set to be next Cork chairman

Bob Ryan is set to become the next chairman of the Cork County Board as he is the only candidate nominated for the position which becomes vacant at Convention in December.

Ryan, the current vice-chairman and a former PRO of the board, will succeed Jerry O’Sullivan whose three-year tenure draws to a close.

There will be a contest for vice-chairman and PRO.

Current PRO Ger Lane and Youth Officer Marc Sheehan are seeking the role of vice-chairman while Tracey Kennedy, secretary of the East Cork Board, and John Corcoran, a former Cork senior football selector, are in the running for the position of PRO.

Cork County Board Executive Nominees: Chairman: Bob Ryan (Inniscarra); Vice-Chairman: Ger Lane (Bride Rovers), Marc Sheehan (Aghabullogue); PRO: Tracey Kennedy (Killeagh), John Corcoran (St Mary’s); Treasurer: Pearse Murphy (Adrigole); Coaching Officer: Brendan O’Driscoll (Cork IT), Richard Murphy (Lyre); Development Officer: Diarmuid Gowen (Fermoy), Tom Dennehy (Kiskeam), Brendan O’Driscoll (Cork IT); Irish/Cultural Officer: Liam Ó Laochdha (Youghal); Munster Council Delegates (2): Pearse Murphy (Adrigole), Jerry O’Sullivan (Cloyne), Mick Dolan (Fermoy); Central Council Delegate: Des Cullinane (UCC), Denis Keohane (St Oliver Plunkett’s)

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up