St Brigid’s finish with a flourish to power past Tourlestrane

DESPITE being given a first-half scare, defending champions St Brigid’s cruised into the Connacht Club SFC final with a merited six-point defeat of plucky Tourlestrane at Markievicz Park yesterday.

Full-forward Senan Kilbride, named man of the match, and playmaker Frankie Dolan contributed 10 of the winners’ points, with tallies of 0-6 and 0-4 respectively, but St Brigid’s needed an improved second half as they trailed 0-5 to 0-4 at the break.

Tourlestrane, who finished with 14 players when Brian Egan picked up two bookings in five minutes, had enjoyed a devastating start and zipped into a four-point lead, 0-4 to 0-0, by the 10th minute.

Three unanswered points from the outstanding Kilbride inside the opening 10 minutes of the second half returned the initiative to the sluggish Roscommon champions as they controlled the remainder of the half.

A brilliant point from Brendan Egan then brought the south Sligo men to within a score of their illustrious opponents, 0-8 to 0-7, but they were outscored by five points and outplayed during the remaining 20 minutes.

Scorers for St Brigid’s: S Kilbride 0-6 (3fs), F Dolan 0-4 (2fs), D Kelleher 0-2, D Dolan, C McHugh, K Mannion, P Domican 0-1 each.

Scorers for Tourlestrane: B Egan 0-3fs, John Quinn (2fs), G Gaughan 0-2 each, Brendan Egan, D Dunne, A Dunne 0-1 each.

ST BRIGID’S: J Martin; R Kelly, D Donnelly (capt), D Sheehy; E Sheehy, P Domican, N Grehan; K Mannion, G Dolan; D Dolan, C McHugh, D Kelleher; P Kelly, S Kilbride, F Dolan.

Subs: C McHugh for P Kelly (42), G Cunniffe for Donnelly (55), G Aherne for D Dolan (60).

TOURLESTRANE: S Gildea; C Neary, B Kennedy, N Gaughan; D Dunne, A McIntyre, J Leonard; Brendan Egan, S Henry; A Dunne, G Gaughan (capt), S Dunne; Brian Egan, J Marren, G McGowan.

Subs: D Durkin for Henry (36), J Quinn for Dunne (40), S Henry for McGowan (50).

Referee: Ray McBrien (Leitrim).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up