Tracton forced to battle after early dominance

HAVING dominated Saturday’s Liam Breathnach Cup final at Ballygarvan from the start, Tracton almost saw their lead slip in a 15-minute spell which yielded 1-7 for Ballincollig.

Tracton had outstanding individual performances from Seán O’Sullivan, Michael Barry and Michael O’Sullivan to keep a lethargic Ballincollig team on the back foot.

Despite the early dominance of Ballincollig’s Ciarán O’Sullivan in midfield they failed to make an impression on the scoreboard and by the time John O’Brien opened their account, Tracton had notched three points courtesy of two Ronan Walsh frees and a Michael O’Sullivan effort.

With a strong wind at their backs, Tracton were happy to bypass midfield, sending long balls into an attack that troubled the Ballincollig defence. Soft frees allowed Walsh extend the lead as Ballincollig struggled.

Five Tracton points without reply left a six-point gap between the sides before Michael O’Sullivan’s goal in first-half injury time saw his side take a 1-10 to 0-4 lead into the interval.

Having traded two points each in the opening quarter of an hour of the second half, Ballincollig finally rallied.

Four points, two from Eoin Hegarty frees, indicated signs of a comeback before substitute Emmet Ryle’s goal on 49 minutes re-ignited the contest.

Suddenly it was the Tracton defence looking nervous as Ballincollig threw everything at them but when goalkeeper Finbarr Kelly’s last-minute free was deflected over for a point, Tracton knew they had done enough.

Scorers for Tracton: R Walsh 0-7 (6fs, 1-65), M O’Sullivan 1-3, S O’Sullivan, 0-3, J Kingston and F Kingston 0-1 each.

Scorers for Ballincollig: E Ryle 1-1, E Hegarty 0-4 (3fs), S O’Donoghue and J O’Brien 0-2 each, C Harris 0-1 (65), F Kelly 0-1 (f), C O’Sullivan and Conor Sexton 0-1 each.

TRACTON: D Walsh; M Barry, K Corrigan, F Kingston; J Kingston, B Lynch, C McGuinness; S O’Sullivan, F Walsh; J Kingston, M Desmond, M O’Sullivan; R Walsh, D O’Callaghan, J Harrington.

Subs: R Cronin for Desmond (40), D Sheehan for O’Callaghan (56).

BALLINCOLLIG: F Kelly; L Jennings, N Galvin, JP Murphy; B Cotter, S O’Donoghue, R O’Doherty; C O’Sullivan, C Harris; K Hickey, J O’Brien, E Hegarty; I Coughlan, A O’Donovan, J Hickey.

Subs: E Ryle for Hickey (23), C Sexton for O’Donovan (37), C Moore for Harris (52).

Referee: James Dorgan (Nemo Rangers).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up