Kildalkey’s three on trot

KILDALKEY claimed their third successive Meath SHC title with a decisive double scores victory over Navan O’Mahonys in a disappointing final at Pairc Tailteann.

Appearing in the decider for the first time in 25 years, O’Mahonys suffered an early setback when a long ball from midfielder Sean Corrigan sneaked past ‘keeper James Burke in the opening minute. Derek Doran struck for Kildalkey’s goal on seven minutes and with Sean Heavey converting from a sideline they led 2-7 to 0-5 at the break.

Five points was as close as the Navan side got when backed by the breeze in the second period and there were no doubts about the outcome after Doran netted his second goal on 43 minutes.

Scorers for Kildalkey: N Kirby 0-7, 6fs, D Doran 2-0, S Corrigan 1-1, S Heavey 0-2, 1 sideline, M Doran 0-1.

Scorers for O’Mahonys: P Skehan 0-5, 4fs, B Regan 0-2, M Kelly, N McKeigue, D McMullan 0-1 each

KILDALKEY: C Flynn; C Dunne, S Forde, E Potterton; M Keogh, E Keogh, M Doran; S Corrigan, T Fox; P Keogh, N Kirby, P Geoghegan; P Conneely, S Heavey, D Doran.

Subs: G Kelly for Conneely, F McMahon for Fox (both 50), F Doran for P Keogh, D Lahart for Corrigan (both 60).

NAVAN O’MAHONYS: J Burke; C Reilly, R Hogan, D Hogan; D Moran, K O’Rourke, S Crosby; N McKeigue, P Smyth; B Dillon, P Skehan, S McKeigue; M Kelly, B Regan, A Snow.

Subs: C O’Rourke for Snow (23), D McMullan for Dillon, D Quirke for S McKeigue (both 40), J Regan for Crosby (50), D Murtagh for Kelly (55).

Referee: M Quinn (Athboy).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up