Mitchelstown far too crafty for Urhan

IT was steady as she goes for a consistent Mitchelstown side who were never seriously troubled by Urhan in this Cork JAFC quarter-final at Dunmanway.

The Beara champions peaked briefly approaching half-time with two quickly taken points following a series of top class saves from their keeper Martin McCarthy and went in at the break 0-3 to 0-9 in arrears.

They restarted with the opening score of the second-half but normal service resumed when Laurence O’Flynn converted a free to sink Urhan’s chances.

During this period the winners, with lively wing forward Liam Keane topping their scoring chart, took over completely. Shane Beston and Shane Cahill were other leading lights in their attack where late replacement Anthony O’Brien won a lot of possession.

Despite an outstanding display by centre-back Mikey O’Shea and some dour play by PJ Cadogan, the Urhan defence was overrun on several occasions. Fortunately for them keeper Martin McCarthy was on top of his game and the best of three first-half exceptional stops came nearing half time when he somehow deprived Shane Cahill after Vinny Lehane and Conchúr Harrington had added to the losers previous lone score.

A Declan Healy free reduced the deficit to five immediately after the resumption but a handy Mitchelstown outfit, for whom Fionn Herlihy, Stephen Fox and Michael Maher efficiently marshalled the Urhan big guns in attack, were never in any real danger.

Long before the end they had used four of their substitutes without losing momentum and nearly produced a Liam Keane goal. Once more a fine Martin McCarthy save was central to preventing the winners from serving up a much more lopsided scoreline.

Scorers for Mitchelstown: L Keane 0-4, S Cahill 0-3 (1f), S Beston, A O’Brien, J Sheehan (1f) 0-2 each, A McNamara, L O’Flynn (f), 0-1 each.

Scorers for Urhan: V Lehane, D Healy (2fs) 0-2 each, C Harrington 0-1f.

MITCHELSTOWN: L Hanna; F Herlihy, M Maher, D Lynch; O Burke, S Fox, P Magee; L O’Flynn, D Dineen; A McNamara, S Beston, L Keane; J Sheehan, S Cahill, A O’Brien.

Subs: D Nugent for Dineen, K Carroll for McNamara, J Finn for Magee, P Donegan for Sheehan, C Courtney for Keane.

URHAN: M McCarthy; PJ Cadogan, J Dwyer, D O’Shea; B Healy, M O’Shea, D Cronin; J Healy, D Dwyer; D McCarthy, C O’Sullivan, M O’Neill; C Harrington, V Lehane, D Healy.

Subs: L Daly for B Healy (inj), S O’Shea for D O’Shea, I O’Sullivan for D McCarthy, F O’Dwyer for J Healy, C O’Neill for Lehane.

Referee: David Whyte (St Marys).

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.21 s