Mullaney points the way for Blues

SENSATIONAL full-forward John Mullaney inspired Ballinhassig to a second Barry Collins Super Valu South East JAHC title in three years, leaving Carrigaline dejected at Riverstick yesterday.

Mullaney enhanced his reputation further with a personal tally of 1-5, each score from open play as Ballinhassig, champions in 2009 but who relinquished their crown to Ballymartle last year, prevailed in style.

Balllinhassig led 1-6 to 0-6 at half-time, but by out-scoring Carrigaline 0-9 to 0-4 in the second period they cruised to victory.

A blistering opening 10-minute spell which yielded a 0-5 to 0-1 Ballinhassig lead, including 0-3, 0-2 from frees, courtesy of midfielder Kevin O’Sullivan, was an indicator of their superiority.

But that was only after a purple patch for Carrigaline between the 16th and 23rd minutes when they fired over 0-4 to reduce the deficit to 0-6 to 0-5.

However, after Tadhg Coleman’s long delivery was caught and fired to the net by Mullaney on 26 minutes, 12 metres from goal, Ballinhassig never looked back.

CJ O’Sullivan did add a point for Carrigaline before half-time but Mullaney’s goal separated them.

Upon the resumption, Kevin O’Sullivan and Mullaney extended Ballinhassig’s advantage.

Paul Campbell executed an excellent point for Carrigaline, 1-8 to 0-7 but they would add just three more before the end from Brendan O’Driscoll, O’Sullivan and Sean Conlon.

Points from Michael Desmond, O’Sullivan, Mullaney (2) and lively substitute Diarmuid O’Sullivan (2) afforded Ballinhassig the comfort of an eight-point triumph.

Scorers for Ballinhassig: J Mullaney 1-5, K O’Sullivan 0-6 (0-5f), D O’Sullivan 0-2, M Desmond, T Coleman 0-1 each.

Carrigaline: CJ O’Sullivan 0-3 (0-1f), B O’Driscoll 0-3 (0-3f), D Bagnell, P Campbell, N Coakley, S Conlon (0-1f) 0-1 each.

BALLINHASSIG: D McCarthy; P O’Leary, D O’Leary, M Coomey; J Holland, P Brennan, S Sheehan (capt); K O’Sullivan, P Coleman; J Finn, M Desmond, P Lombard; T Coleman, J Mullaney, S Coleman.

Subs: M Walsh for S Coleman (39), D O’Sullivan for Finn (inj., 44), R O’Leary for T Coleman (59), J Crowley for Holland (63).

CARRIGALINE: B Irwin; P Donnellan, J O’Reilly, C Lynch; J Bray, A Noonan, C O’Mahony (capt); D Bagnell, CJ O’Sullivan; P Campbell, N Coakley, M O’Sullivan; S Conlon, B Scanlon, B O’Driscoll.

Subs: T O’Connor for Bray (inj., 21) S O’Regan for O’Sullivan (37), D O’Regan for Campbell (50), M O’Donovan for O’Driscoll (50), C Neville for O’Regan (inj., 51).

Referee: A Cummins (Ballymartle).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up