Tourmakeady spring shock

WHILE Mayo manager James Horan spent yesterday sweating over the fitness of his players, the Mayo club championship threw up a couple of big surprises.

James Horan was among the spectators in the biggest shock of the day as Shrule/Glencorrib went down to Tourmakeady.

Although Conor Mortimer scored five points (two from play) for the visitors, his cameo wasn’t enough to prevent Tourmakeady snatching a 1-7 to 0-7 victory thanks to a late Micheál Ronan goal.

Despite the defeat, Shrule/Glencorrib still qualified for the quarter-finals from their group along with Ballina Stephenites.

The 2005 All-Ireland club champions trounced Claremorris by 2-13 to 0-6 with goals from Stephen Hughes (penalty) and Scott Kinevan.

Mayo midfielder Ronan McGarrity turned in an impressive display for Ballina while the only downside for both club and county was the ankle injury sustained by Mayo goalkeeper David Clarke in the closing stages.

Crossmolina, who harboured ambitions of success this year, lost out to last year’s champions Ballintubber on Saturday evening who were resting county men Alan Dillon and Cillian O’Connor. Alan Plunkett landed the winning score in a 1-8 to 1-7 victory.

John Maughan’s Crossmolina still progress to the knock-out stages however, after finishing as group runners-up.

Elsewhere, Knockmore and Breaffy also booked their places in the quarter-finals after playing out a fiercely-contested third round game where three players (including Aidan O’Shea who was booked twice) were sent-off.

Late points from Damien Munnelly and the veteran Kevin O’Neill carried Knockmore to a 1-11 to 1-8 victory with Breaffy’s Michéal Jennings and the winners’ Andrew Keane also dismissed.

However, Ballinrobe’s surprise 1-13 to 0-4 victory away to Kiltane meant that both Breaffy and Knockmore progressed to the knock-out stages from the group.

Former Mayo senior and U21 manager Pat Holmes’ Castlebar Mitchels will also be in the quarter-final draw after maintaining their 100% record with a comprehensive 4-9 to 0-4 victory over Ballaghaderreen, who had already qualified from the group.

Goals from Mayo panellist Neil Douglas (two), Cian Costello and David Joyce did the damage against a Ballagh’ side who lined out without county man Andy Moran.

The Mayo SFC relegation play-off places were also decided with one team from Garrymore, Charlestown, Kiltane and Tourmakeady to drop down to the Intermediate ranks later in the season.

A dramatic late goal from Mayo defender Lee Keegan was enough to see Westport beat Garrymore by 2-8 to 0-12 and leave the South Mayo side in the relegation mire.

Charlestown, the 2009 county champions, also crashed to a surprise 0-8 to 1-7 defeat away to Aghamore as a second-half goal from Simon McGuinness proved decisive.

Meanwhile, a powerful display from Mayo defender Keith Higgins meant that Ballyhaunis maintained their unbeaten record in the IFC at the expense of Achill.

The Mayo dual star scored two points as Ballyhaunis joined Parke, Burrishoole, Kilmaine, Davitts, Hollymount/Carramore, Cill Chomáin and Belmullet in the last eight.

The quarter-finals have been fixed for August 27/28.

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd